We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for walking and pubs!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
r0ckchick...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for walking and pubs!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Barn is located in the centre of the village, ideal for walking and near to all 3 village pubs (very important). It has everything you need including essentials such as tea, coffee, milk and wine and is very nicely furnished and above all, very clean and warm. The proprietors, Ken and Carol were very welcoming. We would highly recommend staying here.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that The Barn @ The Old Bakery provided all that you required to unwind, relax and explore the Peak District National Park.
We would happily welcome you both back to stay in our property for you continue your exploration of the Derbyshire Dales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchkinj...
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cosy cottage in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Lovely cosy cottage which was perfect for a 3 day mini break in the Peak District, perfectly located in the gorgeous village of Youlgrave and only a few miles from Bakewell. Spotlessly clean, quiet and very much home from home - ideal for a couple. The local Farmyard pub was lovely and very convenient - we ate there for the three nights we were there, super home cooked food.
Ken was a fabulous host and was always there to answer any queries and cooks a sumptuous breakfast....highly recommended place to stay to explore the stunning Peak District!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that our accommodation met with your high standards.
We are equally pleased to here that you discovered the delights of Bakewell, and The Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I would really like to keep this place a secret to but that would be very unfair to the owners.
This is a hidden gem, literally! Tucked away behind houses on the high street you wouldn't know it was there. It has everything & more than any self catering I have stayed in before. The courtesy call before arrival was very welcome as Ken, the owner, gave us a few tips before we arrived, 'Bring your wellies' being the most useful.. glad I did Ken! It was the little things for me that made this stay, tea, coffee, milk, biscuits & a bottle of wine...... a nice touch ....... but also washing up liquid, foil etc all the things you mean to pack & dont. The Barn is warm, welcoming, clean & comfy. Ken provides loads of info on local attractions, walks, things to do etc. He is also on hand if needed without being intrusive. Loved the fact there were walks right on the doorstep.... no need to jump in the car & drive.
Thank you Ken, I'm glad we found you & will definitely be returning later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a, really great, review, it is very much appreciated.
I'm glad that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery to your liking.
We have tried to "kit it out" as we would like to find a Self Catering property.
We always try to contact our guests, before, they arrive, if possible.
If, nothing else, to provide "up to date" local information, about their stay and local conditions.
We are "on Site", but prefer to let our Guests relax and unwind in their own company. However, we will always be available, to help, with advice.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the area: It is Fantastic.
We are more than happy that you wish to return, to continue your exploration of the wonderful, Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H
1 review
“Cosy cottage base for great walks”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Barn's location is great for walking from the doorstep. Owner Ken offered recommendations to enhance stay, emailed Guest pack and we received a welcome call the night before we arrived AND a bottle of wine which was much appreciated.
The Barn offers everything you will need to have a comfortable stay. Nice and cosy return from snowy walks.
We enjoyed the circular Robin Hoods Stride Walk/Elton, Lathkill Dale. Visited Bakewell, Buxton & Chatsworth.
Visited the 3 pubs in the village, The Farmyard food is highly recommended so we returned the next night and took part in the Sunday 'Valentine's' pub quiz which was great fun. The Bulls Head at Monyash is a good too, Martyn developed a taste for the Chatsworth Gold!!
We are definitely returning to The Barn and this lovely part of the country, the only thing not perfect was the weather but that didn't stop us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a very pleasant review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you settled in well and found our property warm and cosy, despite the cold weather that you experienced whilst you were here. We are pleased to see that you managed, despite the poor weather, to get out and see the area.
We are blessed with, now, 3 good pubs in the village all offering something slightly different to each other. Chatsworth Gold is a fantastic pint of ale.
We very much hope to see you again, when you will be able to explore further the wonderful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming bed and breakfast”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Ken and Carol host a lovely bed and breakfast in the heart of the charming village of Youlgreave. There is one large, one small twin bedded rooms and a compact lounge with lots of thoughtful home comforts-books, DVDs, fridge, tea and coffee, delicious home made brownies, boxes for muddy boots and lots of local walking guides. Breakfast is served in the old bakery shop and the old wooden counter has been lovingly restored and is the perfect backdrop to the filling treats served up for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
This review should be on our Bed and Breakfast Reviews.
Emma, her sister and their husbands, came to stay at our Bed and Breakfast, which we run alongside our self catering holiday cottage.
They were perfect guests. They enjoyed the facilities offered in our B and B.
They attended a concert at The Village Hall and went 'walking from the door' into the beautiful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keels123
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed with my partner for 5 nights over New Years Eve at The Barn. It was a fantastic cottage, attention to detail and the quality of the fixture and fittings was excellent.
Lots of information provided for places to visit and walks in the local area which was brilliant.
Owner Ken was really helpful and on hand if needed, but not intrusive.
Wifi isn't great, but we really weren't bothered as nice to be off the grid and enjoy the peace and quiet for a few days!
We had a brilliant stay, would definitely recommend and if we are coming to the area would love to stay here again.
Thanks very much to Ken and Carol.
Keeley

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cottage and our attention to detail. We are always keen to be helpful for our guests, especially if they would like advice about where to visit, walk, or eat.
I am sorry the wifi was not fully operative during your stay, and pleased to read that this enabled you to "drop off the grid" for a few days. (We have had a new BT hub and have experienced some teething problems)
We would really welcome a return visit from you both.
Kind regards
Ken and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased that you returned to experience more of "what we have to offer". We always try to help our guests maximise their opportunity to get the most out of their stay in our property.
We are pleased to read that you found some of the walks on offer from The Barn @ The Old Bakery, into the Peak District National Park.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing