We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ianbT7413...
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Thank you to Ken and Carol, hosts at the The Old Bakery Youlgreave, who made our stay in The Barn @ The Old Bakery so pleasant. The accommodation is first class, the scenery beautiful and Youlgreave as a base is perfectly situated for visiting this part of the Peak District. The Barn is clean, cosy and warm and has every luxury you would wish for. Ken and Carol go out of their way to make you feel welcome and are there to give advice on the area if needed. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back and have no hesitation in highly recommending both The Old Bakery and The Barn @ The Old Bakery to everyone. Ian and Sonya, Northamptonshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation, a home from home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Thank you for your review, it is really appreciated.
We are pleased to read you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your expectations. We try to ensure, if guests have not visited The Peak District National Park before, that we provide them with as much information as possible to enrich their stay in this wonderful area. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your expectation.
The accommodation is well placed to explore the White peaks and the wider Peak District National Park.
The village is blessed with three good pubs all serving home cooked food and great ales. We also have a well stocked butchers and grocer/Post Office within 20metres of The Barn.
We hope you are able to return to continue your exploration of this beautiful area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
As you recognised, The Barn @ The Old Bakery accommodation offers "walking from the door" to explore the White Peak National Park.
We hope that our guests are able to quickly relax and embrace this beautiful area.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
david s
Kegworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Peak Comfort !!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Great central loft apartment with all the comforts of home.
The welcome pack of tea/coffee milk and wine is a lovely addition to start your stay and don't forget the short bread,delicious.
The apartment is central to the village with many walks from the door, just park the car and relax.
3 Pubs all within walking distance of the apartment, great food and welcome at the Farm Yard Inn, but do book a table or you may be disappointed.
Ken and Carol the owners of the Barn are great host's, warm and welcoming.

We cannot wait to return and enjoy the hospitality again, 2015 here we come.
Unfinished Business.!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and comfort of the Barn
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is really appreciated.
You obviously settled in quickly and started to explore some of what the Peak District National Park has to offer, with 'walking from the door' of The Barn @ The Old Bakery.
We hope to provide a warm welcome and to ensure our guests leave fully relaxed.
We hope to see you again for your 'unfinished business'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the walks
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
The Barn @ THe Old Bakery is situated in the heart of the village, offering guests walking from the door, or the opportunity to explore the local attractions.
We are blessed with having three pubs in the village all offering good food and a choice of ales.
We hope that you will return to experience more of the White Peak area of The Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ali D
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great clean & cosy base”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay here. The barn is well equipped, well maintained, very clean and cosy. The provision of tea, coffee, sugar, milk, biscuits and a bottle of wine is a lovely thoughtful touch. Recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn to be equipped to your expectation. We hope that you enjoyed the village and returned home feeling relaxed.
We hope that you will return, to continue to explore more of the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TgY2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and enjoyable place to stay.”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Barn at The Old Bakery was very warm, cosy and relaxing. It felt like a home from home. The owners provided a warm welcome and helpfully recommended places to eat and drink. We enjoyed both meals that we had at the local pubs in Youlgreave.

Youlgreave is a good base from which to explore Derbyshire and is very close to Bakewell, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth; making The Barn a great place to stay.

The only small issues were the tight parking and the unreliable wi-fi signal, but these didn't detract from a lovely break as there was plenty of on-street parking and we didn't need the internet anyway.

Overall we enjoyed staying at The Barn and we would visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: The entrance to the parking area is very narrow, so we parked on the street instead.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery cosy and relaxing. We try to provide our guests the "comforts of home away, from home". We are ideally situated to explore, as you say, Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall.
Parking in Youlgrave can be problematic at times, so we are pleased to be able to provide guests using The Barn @ The Old Bakery with secure parking outside the property.
We were sorry to hear that the internet was "down" when you arrived, this was due to a power cut in the village which had obviously 'tripped' the broadband booster supplying The Barn.
We hope that you will return to continue your explorations of The Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing