We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and great cakes in the garden.”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Handy location close to Lathkill Dale. Only open when the weather is suitable as it's outside.
Wonderful peaceful environment in beautiful garden, oh and cakes aren't bad either. In fact they're great along with the tea and the hosts. Very Dog friendly as well.
You cant ask for more, apart from good weather of course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Safetyrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us such a lovely review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, the Lathkill Dale is beautiful and we are lucky to have such wonderful views from the garden. We are very dog friendly and have plenty of biscuits and chewie's for them and our two Scotties enjoy meeting new friends. Your are quite right about the weather, we have been lucky with the summer so far but we have invested in two huge umbrellas so if there is a shower it will be dry underneath them. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again and thank you once again for the review. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Tea Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 286 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friendly places seem to attract friendly people. We found it very relaxing to have tea, coffee and some of the excellent cakes at this tearoom, after a walk across the moorlands. A great thank you from four grateful Dutch visitors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JdeKruif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your walk and your visit to us. Thank you for giving us such a nice review we very much appreciate it. We try to chat with our visitors if we can and end each day with the feeling we have spent it with friends,. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I regularily spend time in the peak district. One of the things we like to do is seek out local tearooms as we like our tea and cakes on our travels. I am not a particular fan of trip advisor as I believe a lot of false reviews are placed on it be it good or bad. But never the less we googled for the top rated tearooms in or around Bakewell and found the top rated tearoom on trip advisor was THE GARDEN TEAROOM in OVER HADDON. We decided to try it and we ar glad we did as it certainly lives up to its high reputation. We are quite fussy customers as regards quality of food , service etc. but there is nothing negative to say about this place. BEAUTIFUL LOCATION , SUPERB HOME BAKED CAKES , GREAT PORTION SIZES , FANTASTIC VALUE FOR MONEY AND FRIENDLY CARING HOSTS ( WHO BOTH DO THE BAKING AND SERVING THEMSELVES ). PLEASE SEEK OUT AND TRY THIS TEAROOM. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

I don't think I can find the words to match your amazing review except to say Thank You. I am so pleased that we were able to make your visit pleasant and we hope we can continue to live up to such an amazing review. We enjoy baking and having the opportunity to meet visitors and we consider ourselves lucky to be able to the Tea Room, we are always pleased if we have been able to make a visit to us pleasant. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us such a wonderful review we very much appreciate it and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Myself and my partner decided to try this tea room after reading the excellent reviews and we are so pleased we did! The view is simply stunning, the cakes to die for, not to mention very generous. We were greeted very warmly by the friendly couple who run it, we will definatly be going again soon! Well done guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tracy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and liked the lovely views from the garden. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review we appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you once again and kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent the last week staying in Darwin forest. While we were there we went to bakewell and sampled the authentic bakewell pudding and cream tea but we were in the hunt for somewhere special and outstanding to go for afternoon tea before we left to go home.

After a bit of research we came across the garden tea rooms and decided on out last day to venture out to find it. We weren't disappointed!

We parked up in the car park and walked down the hill to the house. On arrival we were greeted by Mark who was very friendly and invited us in to take a look at the cakes - all homemade and you can tell.

We sat in the garden overlooking the countryside and had a pot of tea and a lovely big slice of cake each - I had lemon drizzle and my wife had coffee cake. I have to honestly say it's the best tea and cake we have ever had!

Afterwards we paid (£6.40 -amazing value) and was chatting to Karen and mark for while before we headed off. Very friendly people. We cannot recommend this place enough! If you are going to the area you HAVE to go and sample their wonderful afternoon tea in the most perfect setting. We will be heading straight back next time we are in the Peak District.

Thank you for a wonderful end to our country break.

Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Absolutely amazing review, thank you so very much, we really appreciate you going to the trouble of giving us such a wonderful review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. We are introducing some new cakes onto the menu so hopefully when you come again there will be more choice. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Lathkill Dale. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing