We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful garden tea room”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Excellent place to stop to have a nice pot of tea and cake overlooking Lathkill Dale. I had the coffee cake and it was huge! well worth the money. The owners have excellent customer service, even asked if we wanted our teapot topping up! We had a mug of coffee too and it was only £1.00. It has only outdoor seating so you need to go on a sunny day! Will definitely go again when we pass by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MerikaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad you visited us on our first day of the season when the weather was kind to us. We are pleased that your enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you once again. Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 286 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We went last September to The Garden Tea Room and it was fantastic. Owners (and their two dogs) were extremely friendly, and we ended up chatting to them for a good two hours. The cakes were delicious - my girlfriend is a coeliac and she had the gluten-free brownie and said it was the best brownie she'd ever had. I had the traditional Bakewell tart, which was delicious and rich. Fantastic view, friendly owners, and great views - what more could you want?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time. We are continuing with the gluten free brownies and looking the increase the range of gluten free cake's we can offer. We hope to see you again this season. Thank you once again. Kindest regards. Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to visit the Tea Room on Mother's day due to a last minute change of plan - imagining that it would be open and packed. Sadly it was shut, so please phone before you go. There were lots of people wandering round the village looking for it too!

It was really hard to find (it is opposite the church) but when we eventually did, the owner popped out to explain that they are awaiting their renewal planning permission and will be opening again sometime in April. He was very sweet and still offered us a cup of tea and a brownie with no charge, but we decided to head off for a pub lunch instead.

Tip - there is a pay and display car park in the village, so you may need to park there and head down the hill to the church.

It is a lovely location though, so we will try again another day.

1  Thank carolinecag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi Caroline, we were so sorry we were not open when you called by but as you have said we were still waiting for permission to re-open which we now have received. We shall be open for Easter with a full selection of our home-made cakes, so hopefully you will have a chance to call again. We hope you enjoyed your pub lunch with their lovely views.
There is free parking in and around the village as well as the car park . Unfortunately we are not allowed to put any signs up in the village telling people where we are this is because we are in a conservation area, but we will put some directions up on our tripadvisor page.
Thank you for making the effort to visit us and for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the coming session.
Kindest regards
Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is an absolute gem. Great service. Beautiful food (Oh those cakes! Fantastic!). If you haven't been before, this is definitely worth a visit. If you have been before, then no doubt you will continue to return many times. A lovely, lovely place.

Thank SusieQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review we're pleased you enjoyed your tea and cake and thank you for taking the time to give us a good review. Hopefully we will see you again this session. Kindest regards. Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We go walking in Derbyshire frequently and often to the picturesque Lathkill Dale where we happened to be on Sunday.Normally after a long walk we go back to the car and then on somewhere to maybe get tea and cake but thank goodness we decided to climb the hill this time to find what can only be described as the perfect place to be.What a fantastic find.We were greeted by two just lovely friendly people who served us with the most delicious,and large,pieces of coffee cake, the best we have ever tasted.It was difficult to choose as the lemon drizzle cake and the treacle tart were also on offer.The balcony on which the chairs and tables are on has the most spectacular view ,we know it was sunny but rest assured we will be back on duller days to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of a couple who obviously enjoy their work and it really shows.We wish them every success and anyone who reads this must try this fabulous place. It really is a very special tea room.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NisaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you've given us, we very much appreciate you going to the trouble. We're so glad you enjoyed stopping off at the tea room and that you enjoyed the coffee cake, it's my favourite. We very much hope you will get the chance to visit us again. Thank you once again for the fantastic review it really means a lot to us. Kindest regards Karen Mark and the Scotties x.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing