We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous tea room!”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous tea room!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were told by fellow guests at our B&B that we simply must visit the Garden Tea Room in Over Haddon, so we did - and what a lovely tea room in an amazing setting! The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and it was just wonderful to sit on the terrace admiring the beautiful countryside. The lattes were excellent and my chocolate brownie was to die for! My husband thoroughly enjoyed his Eccles cake too. We recommend this tea room - one of the best we've been to (and certainly with the best view!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marionmcdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review we appreciate your kind comments and hope you enjoyed the rest of your break. We hope to see you again when your in the area next. Kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great tea room in lovely location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped for tea and cakes at this tea room after a walk in the beautiful Lathkill Dale National Nature Reserve. I had read the Trip Advisor reviews and I can fully endorse all the very good things people are saying about the place. First it's in a great location with outside tables with views over the steep terraced garden. Lots of wild birds including woodpeckers coming into the garden to feed. The owners are a very friendly couple who told me they opened 4 months ago after 2 years of solid work getting the terraces and garden etc sorted out. They make all the cakes themselves - there was a great choice too. We opted for coffee cake and lemon drizzle cake. They were delicious. Generous portions, light and tasty, and inexpensive too. We had a pot of tea for two, and after 5 large cupfuls there was still plenty left. If you like tea/coffee and cake this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_Yorkshire_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
The lemon drizzle cake and coffee cake are possibly our best sellers so we are pleased you enjoyed yours when you visited us. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us such a lovely review we appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Lathkill Dale. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Truly lovely - don't walk on by!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

During a lengthy walk, I needed to take a rest and was heading to a bench on the side of the road. However, I was so pleased and quite shocked to spy a tearoom sign, balanced at the side of the road! Mark, a very kind and welcoming young man, was a little surprised to discover a customer so early and duly supplied a well earned cappucino. Two hours, two hot beverages, a tour of their beautiful house, a meet and greet of the dogs and a varied conversation later, my husband finally arrived to enjoy the delicious range of homemade treats that were on offer. Thank you so much for a truly enjoyable morning with spectacular views and a fabulous host. It was a shame that I didn't meet Karen, who was out plant shopping! Congratulations to you both for starting such a wonderful tearoom - one of the best I've been to. I would like to wish you the very best of luck in your venture, I am absolutely certain you will do incredibly well. Anyone who walks on by, will be missing a great opportunity to sit, talk and relax in a fabulous garden, nestled in the heart of the Derbyshire countryside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review we very much appreciate you taking the time. Mark very much enjoyed meeting you and having a good chat, we're pleased you like the location and hopefully you will have the chance to visit us again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
474 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We found The Garden Tea Room on TA and rushed up there to sample the delights. We were not disappointed. Great hosts, fantastic views and most of all delicious cakes and so very reasonable. We can't wait to get back, but I guess the only problem is that it may not be open in the winter - we shall get withdrawal symptoms!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for adding to the reviews and helping us get known, we appreciate such a good review. Hopefully we will stay open as long as the weather is good and the cakes taste just as good snuggled up in a warm coat. Thank you for visiting us and hopefully we will see you again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accidentally stumbled on an absolute GEM!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

While walking through the Lathkill nature reserve and being with my partner who needs the toilet every 10mins we were walking up towards the village to find a toilet. Just up the hill we saw the signs for a tea room.
What an absolutely amazing place. Wonderful conversation, good tea, great prices and a view the is un-paralleled by any other cafe, coffee shop or tea room.
Definitely make a point of stopping for a tea and a cake (all homed baked by the way...)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haveabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We're glad you found us and had an enjoyable break from your walk, Thank you for the review we appreciate you taking the time and look forward to seeing you again if your in the area. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing