We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vallon Cottage deserves all the superlatives!”
other travelers have booked this property
The terrace amongst the trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace amongst the trees
The road view Looking at Vallon from the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The terrace amongst the trees
The road view
Looking at Vallon from the terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Sitting room
Sitting room
The view from the terrace
view from the terrace/bedroom
View from the bedroom
Bedroom 1
bathroom 1
Detail on throw bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Thick walls on the staircase
Dining/conservatory
Well equipped Kitchen with great equipment
The kitchen
upstairs sitting/reading room
The village of Youlgrave
Outside in winter
Youlgrave - river Bradford in summer
Derbyshire Hills and edges
Youlgrave Allotments
Beautiful area of Peak District
Youlgrave in the snow
Youlgrave in the snow
Youlgrave in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SydneyDee...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Vallon Cottage deserves all the superlatives!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Rereading a few of the reviews I read before booking Vallon Cottage I can now say with absolute authority - all the good things mentioned are true! It is a very special place to stay and truly does nestle you into itself so completely that you feel at home immediately. The attention to those things that add enormously to travellers' comfort do exactly as they're intended to do.
The massive and stunning main bedroom and equally massive 'ensuite' (seriously - it's huge!) and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in meant I wanted to cancel the rest of my UK holiday and stay here. The 2nd bedroom had an equally comfortable bed and the 2nd small but full bathroom was a bonus for our daughter.
Ali (owner) has so many home comforts in this cottage that it feels like a privilege to be able to stay here. I felt dreadful when an oil bottle fell on and broke a little pottery dish but Ali told me not to worry when I messaged her about it.
The back conservatory room is a warm haven on a cool or rainy day and the deck area with its table and chairs is fabulous for outdoor eating or an evening drink. It took a while for we Aussies to accept that we weren't going to get bitten to death by mosquitoes sitting outside at dusk!
In summation, we are so lucky that people like Ali are happy to share their beautiful holiday cottages with us. The cost is so much less than a hotel and the experience is immeasurably better. I for one am grateful...thank you Ali!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything. But if I have to mention one... the bed.
Liked least: Loved everything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2014
Wow Dee, its so heartening to read such a wonderful review, thank you. Wonderful because your feedback tells me you enjoyed staying in Vallon and that's my mission to make every stay special. Vallon is a very loved cottage, the situation and the ambience always leave me wishing I could stay longer and its so lovely to hear that you felt the same way. If we come to Sydney we will definitely look you up :) thanks again and so very happy your stay was so good. Warm regards Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2014
I am so sorry that I didn't respond to your review which was such a wonderful one for Vallon Cottage. I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time after Christmas and that relaxing was on your agenda, it is hard not to at Vallon isn't it. Thanks again for your really kind words and hope to welcome you back again. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KStevens2...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the Peak District”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a fantastic week here. The cottage is beautiful, spacious and has all the facilities you need (great CD collection Ali!). The garden is an amazing place to sit and either look at the dale below, the hills in the distance, or the hundreds of butterflies. Youlgreave is a lovely little town in a great position for reaching all areas. There are many excellent walks from here, and the 3 pubs are good. My parents-in-law visited one day and didn't want to go back to their caravan (I managed to persuade them!). Parking in the road was usually fine, but anyway the free car park was very closeby and always had plenty of room. Many thanks Ali.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden view
Liked least: Not applicable in the slightest
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2013
Brilliant that you had such a wonderful time Keith, the Budlia really attracts the butterflies, doesnt it :), glad you enjoyed them all, and the music, its a very eclectic collection... Hope to be able to welcome you another time and enjoy the rest of this beautiful weather. Thanks for your wonderful words, Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaydon on Tyne
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, and more importantly I am so delighted that you had such a good stay and your needs were catered for.
Thank you again, Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WelshGirl...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just the ticket!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What an excellent holiday cottage, does exactly 'what it says on the tin'! Five stars is NOT ENOUGH! Everything is there that you could ever need, just add a gallon bucket full of self-calm, mix together and you have the most peaceful, restful and soothing few days that you almost travel home in a horizontal position! :) I am an 'early bird' and was sitting in the lovely garden by 6:30 each morning, with birds & a squirrel for company - no noise from traffic, or noisy neighbours. We stayed for 3 nights/4days, and we all felt so 'laid back', so not sure what it's like after a week! The cottage & garden are beautiful, you don't want for anything, but beware!!!!!...... this could become addictive!.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but especially the peace and quietness
Liked least: Having to go home so soon!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2013
Thanks so much, your lovely words made me smile, Vallon is addictive isn't it, and so peaceful.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and thoughts. Its great that you had such a wonderful time in Vallon and enjoyed all the history and countryside locally too.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lanka22
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great location very well equipped, comfortable”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is a great location with lovely views and conveniently located within peak district. The cottage is very well and thoughtfully equipped and has a log fire with wood supplied. The views are great and peaceful. The kitchen had good quality cooking ingredients (spices, oils, vinegar) and cleaning material provided and car parking was convenient. Master bedroom and en suite very spacious and airy. Owner helpful. Village had food shop with local produce and pub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2013
Thanks very much for your great review, the local shop and pubs are a great bonus and Youlgrave has a folk club now every Saturday night!
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing