We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Fish and chips.”

Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips
Ranked #21 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
nottingham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Super Fish and chips.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I went to the Bakewell show as usual, damp underfoot but warm and pleasant atmosphere.. The show itself was as good as ever worth a visit.
Feeling hungry we looked around for somewhere to have lunch, we spotted the Bakewell fish and chips shop,The restaurant was upstairs which would be awkward for people not able to climb.
We were made welcome as soon as we entered the restaurant by a bubbly lady who led us to our table of choice. the menu was varied and we opted for the pensioners deal fish chips and peas plus coffee and tea bread and butter.
We were mistaken in thinking the portion would be small my word there was more than enough.
All in all a pleasant plaice! happy staff, clean and well presented.
Well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbobNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    65
    30
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing and not what i expected”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were in bakewell and noticed a que outside of one fish shop but at the time it was closed so we joined it.

I was only in the village for a few hours and did not know what to however upon walking in the place was in a class of its own. it had stainless handrails and lots of glass wow was the word of the day.

the menu was great and the scampi was lush. i would drive from newcastle upon tyne to eat here it was out of this world

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebabydragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awful”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We called in after a day that left us no time or inclination to cook, wish we hadn't, it was almost closing time so they had run out a lot of the menu or couldn't be bothered to cook anything fresh, they were tidying up as opposed to actually operating as a business, the staff did not seem interested, the food we received was not freshly cooked, very dissapointing, chips were mostly scraps and a small portion despite asking for a large (there were 5 of us) no use to us after driving home! Cornish pasty was burned on the bottom and dry in it's entirety. Not asking for the pinnacle of cooking at a chip shop but this was so below par. I'd never go back, to add insult to injury the guys behind the counter were taking the Mickey out of some earlier customers mathematic skills, I would advise they get their own house in order before they begin to think about criticising the people who pay the bills and their wages.

I visited just before 8pm on Tuesday 20th August.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGChef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant Fab Take away good too.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Could not fault the Fish and Chips lovely simply lovely.

Take away they have to be reminded where to put the salt and vinegar as your chips will never see any if you don't mention it! But to be honest the fish and chips are so good you have to forgive them.

The restaurant is just lovely the service is lovely and of course the fish and chips are too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tisme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On a weekend holiday we stopped for a break in Bakewell. After walking around for a while and seeing the long queue at this takeaway we decided that it must be good to attract the customers. The queue moved quickly and we were soon served with our haddock and chips. We walked a short distance to sit on a wall overlooking the river to eat. The fish looked large but once through the batter, which was nice, there was very little fish inside and this was quite dry at the ends. The chips, plenty of them, were not all that good. A vast majority of them were small bits rather than whole tasty chips. It filled a hole but most of the batter and the chips were used to feed the many gulls and ducks that were there waiting - they obviously knew that people eating fish and chips were going to throw a lot away.

One more point, when you go into the take-away it is like walking down a narrow corridor and whilst we were being served it was hard to avoid food on the floor, not a good sign of levels of good hygiene being maintained.

Looking around Bakewell this seemed to be the best take-away fish and chips but the standard of the food we ate was only just about acceptable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobcotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing