We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips

Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips
Ranked #22 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

every time we visit the wonderful county of Derbyshire, we ALWAYS make a point of going to Bakewell to eat here! The foot is out of this world and the past few times we have been there, the waitress (Andrea) has served us and really is one of the most polite, professional and nicest people we have met. She makes the customers feel welcome and does a great job. The staff and the food is possibly the best we have come across when on holiday! Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank barefootbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    59
    30
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Fish was good, but not the best I've had. It didn't have a lot of taste. Service was good though and the manager was very helpful in accommodating out little girl and pushchair - be aware though, it's up a set of narrow stairs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatAndJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here last year, the owners daughter was lovely, she said Mum was cooking and the food was gorgeous. This time we can only assume it has new owners? We were greeted with a 'sit there please' - and was seated near the door.( empty Restaurant). The waitress told us she had been busy so was cleaning as it was 6 o'clock. I really hate it when people clean up near me when I am eating. The fish was dry and tasteless. My hubby did not eat his meal. The chips had lots of black bits on them because the potatoes had not been 'eyed' properly. They had no taste. It's not a cheap meal and we were very disappointed. We will not eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silkiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The best fish & chip shop in Bakewell by a mile...ordered fish cake & chips went and sat by river truly delicious tastey & filling would recommend it any day 10/10

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guycc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
284 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent fish & chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I was walking by and couldn't resist the smell of fresh fish and chips. There was a queue but it was well worth waiting for as the fish tasted very fresh and the batter was really crispy. The chips were also good and not under cooked. The small portion was plenty and I didn't manage to finish them. I would strongly recommend this as a good budget option for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TruerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Bakewell Fish Fish And Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing