We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hiddon gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hollow
Ranked #26 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a hiddon gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

what can i say about this place iv been meany times and i keep on going back the service is first class the food is super i took my mum today for mothers day and she loves every thing about this place and dawn always makes you feel welcome and the setting is perfect i am so pleased iv found this lovely place and i will be going back soon again thanks dawn for making my mum happy on mothers day see you soon thanks karl

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl-sugden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed at the Hollow for one night with my mum and sister for a walking weekend in the Peaks. We couldn't believe what a wonderful place we'd found. Very spacious rooms, fantastic food (all locally sourced and home-made, incredible afternoon tea and breakfast), a roaring fire in the guest lounge and the breakfast room - what more could you want? The owners were very helpful and attentive. A stunning and peaceful location and close to lots of walking routes - great to be able to walk from the doorstep.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchestertraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

A great guest house with friendly owner. An amazing house in great condition with a beautiful garden. Breakfast was fantastic. Great pub across the road (The Packhorse Inn), but make sure you book!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoThisIs_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2010

There weren't many reviews of The Hollow before we booked it so we didn't really know what to expect. However, when we turned up we were extremely happy with what we had found! A beautiful b&b perfectly situated amongst rolling green hills and dry stone walls. The room was very large, clean, warm and the bed was VERY comfy. Our host was very welcoming and cooked a smashing breakfast with locally sourced goods. We would highly recommend The Hollow for some serious beauty and relaxation!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy56789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Enjoyed two nights stay and left wanting more. Excellent setting with good quality food and a wonderful welcome. House beautifully restored and bedrooms, which all had stunning views and own bathrooms, were furnished to a very high standard. Will be back and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandCarolHarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This was our third visit to see Dawn and her lovely house. Beautiful views from the 3 rooms and a lovely garden. Fabulous dining room and sitting area which have all been tastefully renovated in keeping with the character of the house. Fabulous breakfast and a warm and friendly welcome from the owner. Proper old fashioned pub across the road which serves reasonably priced food. Ideal for walking to Monsal head etc. and only a short journey to Chatsworth or Ashford in the water. (If you like dogs you must meet Frank as he is a real character)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

My boyfriend and I cam across The Hollow signposted off the Monsal Trail, and greatly enjoyed the home-cooked food which was very tasty, generous in quantity and very well presented. Although we didn't see the guest rooms as we were staying elsewhere, the downstairs rooms were attractive and full of character, and the owner was very friendly. So much so that we plan to stay there if we're ever in the area again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali2009Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Lodge
Sleep Lodge
#6 of 20 in Bakewell
122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Terrafirma Guest House
Terrafirma Guest House
#21 of 47 in Bakewell
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow

Property: The Hollow
Address: The Hollow Little Longstone, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing