We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places available”
Review of Byways

Byways
Ranked #47 of 95 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 17th Century Tea Rooms Serving Breakfasts 8.30 - 12pm Then Light Lunches, Specials & Afternoon Teas 12pm Till 2.30, Cakes & Drinks Are Available Allday
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We popped in mid afternoon for a drink and bit of cake. Service was really slow and I had finished my drink before they brought out the cake. The bakewell slice was not worth the money as it was very ”cakey” with very little almond taste. Very plain. There are lots of choices in Bakewell but this time we got it wrong.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good choice of food for normal/vegetarian/vegan and gluten free diets . We had the vegan breakfast which was extremely tasty and can throughly recommend . Very impressed they had non dairy spread , non dairy milk and the most delicious sausages . Friendly waitresses and chef . The cakes of all varieties looked gorgeous but we will have to wait another day to try those . Many thanks

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank peters000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you very much for your review it is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

Popped in for lunch as on a wet and miserable day. Not too busy so we were able to get a table for two. L The staff were very nice, good service and we did not have to wait very long for our meals. We ordered fish and chips with mushy peas and a quarter pounder, chips and salad from the specials board. The food was very good, the fish was lovely, the batter was crisp and not a bit oily, the chips were crisp on the outside, fluffy inside just as they should be. I tried their special tea, chocolate, it was a black tea and it smelt and tasted wonderful, but not overpowering. I'm so glad we found this place as we had a very enjoyable meal at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank coopert56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you very much for your review it is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

My partner & I come to Bakewell 1-2 times a year & always head to Byways for breakfast.
The staff are so lovely, the service/waiting time is faultless & the breakfast's are amazing!
There's only one thing that lets it down & that's that they allow children in there.
That is the only thing that spoils it.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Leese233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, unfortunately as you can appreciate we can not dicriminate against anyone young or old & it is school holidays so therefore we will have a lot more children than normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

My wife and I went in just for coffee. We dealt with 4 people, and each was pleasant cheerful and helpful. The rooms are pleasant and had we wanted a meal, there were several gluten-free meal and cake options. Thank you.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, General Manager at Byways, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

thank you for your review it is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byways also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Byways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing