We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Byways

Byways
Ranked #57 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe serving homecooked homely food.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were in Bakewell last year and went to this tearoom as they had a board outside with "Fish and Chips" on, but when we read the menu we decided on homemade pie and chips. It was lovely and worth the wait, as meals are cooked to order. Today we were back in Bakewell and after a quick look round the market headed for Byways for lunch, this time we ordered the fish and chips.They were fantastic, a large piece of crispy haddock with thick cut golden crispy chips and garden peas.They were the best I have ever tasted.I wish I lived nearer, a meal in my local cannot compare with this and it is the same price! I can't wait to go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaMac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    66
    32
    32
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious homemade food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Food is wonderful. Leaf tea served in china teapots, cups and saucers. In winter there is a real fire in main room. Staff very friendly.
Not suitable for wheelchairs as you have to go upstairs to restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The place to breakfast in Bakewell everytime.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We've been visiting Byways for years. Also excellent food and service at a good price with a real comfy Derbyshire feel to the place. My photo is the breakfast shot being used as the official photo at the moment. If you go to Bakewell you MUST try Byways. Just across from the bank up some stairs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NettieNooD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cup of tea”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The nicest cup of tea I have had in ages. Tea leaves,hot teapot with tea, hot water jug, tea strainer,pretty cup.pleasant staff. Delightful. Menu looked excellent. God value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richrosetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent tea and puddings”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Extensive range of loose leaf teas, delicious Bakewell tart and custard, friendly staff - everything you want in a good cafe really. I would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indiejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byways also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Byways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing