We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Austria in Bakewell”
Review of Tiroler Stuberl

Tiroler Stuberl
Ranked #4 of 6 Dessert in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Tiroler Stuberl the Austrian Coffee shop and Sausage Importer. Tiroler Stuberl is a small Family Business. We have been serving the local community as well as many visitors to Bakewell for 24 years with our ever expanding range of genuine Austrian Products. We serve anything from fresh cream scones to authentic Austrian Bratwurst and a large range of teas and coffees. We pride ourselves on having probably the friendliest bunch of waitresses in town - so service with a smile is guaranteed.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for over twenty years, its the authentic German applecake and tyrolean strudel, and the friendly service that keeps bringing me back. A good place to sit outside any time of the year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank the_wing_commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your custom of 20 years-we so value it ! Hopefully we will be making the Strudel for a few more years to come :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food was very tasty, filling and fresh. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very pleasant. The food was very different from anything else in the area. We were looking for food that was different as we were fed up with the scone and jam job, we have done the italian, chinese, indian thing. Wow we scored a jackpot here. The sausage and bean soup was full of sausage, no skimping here, very tasty and filling.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the food. Sausage and bean soup still going strong. Danke and Aufs Wiedersehen :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had been excited to try this place after reading some of the reviews. We visited late one rainy afternoon and ended up with the place to ourselves! We sat upstairs surrounded by cuckoo clocks and cowbells. After both ordering sausages, we didn't have to wait long for our food to arrive. Both were served on toasted baps, with bottles of mustard and ketchup to add to your own taste. I would have liked maybe some fried onions or a little salad to go with the sausage and bun? Also, my husband would have loved the opportunity to wash it down with some Austrian beer? Just a couple of suggestions, but we had a nice bite to eat nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maidenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed it. We can not expand the menu to do onions as we have such a tiny kitchen and the menu is now at its max and becoming licensed would be a whole new ballgame-my husband would probably agree with you though about the beer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been to Tiroler Stuberl a few times over the years. I'm very fond of a walk from Monyash to Bakewell down Lathkill Dale, and getting the bus back to Monyash (last leaves before five so check time although a local pub once organised a taxi for me and my partner; a well spend tenner). Bakewell is a magical place.

Lots of cafes in Bakewell. There is something about Tiroler Stuberl. It's casual. The girls who wait do so with a rare charm. The food is good. After a long walk good. The Austrian sausages make my children eyes widen. Apropos a previous review. I don't know whether this is good Austrian food but I do known it's good food. I have been and shall return.

There is always food left over but thats because we always order too much. How can I possibly choose between the soup and the sausages. Chatty when you're paying. Friendly. These are the sort of people you can become friends with. High Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TwentyTreesGallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely kind review and glad you and the family liked our sausages and soups.We have many families,walkers,campers and holiday makers who visit us yearly and its always nice when they return-it is the biggest compliment .Next time if you have any leftovers we will gladly wrap them up for you to take home :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Super little Cafe serving Austrian style sausages etc . Could do with a lot more seating as it was packed when we visited. Great opportunity to buy Austruan/German food to take home . They have a chiller with sausages and lots of packs to make Semmelknödel , Gulash etc. they even sell ALMDUDLER !! :-))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAKAS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your review.Glad you liked it.Yes we do sell Almdudler and it is becoming increasingly popular.Would love a bigger place but that means bigger rents-not keen in that one!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiroler Stuberl also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Tiroler Stuberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing