We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B”
Review of The Manners

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manners
Ranked #13 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A lovely B&B”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Manners B&B in September this year.We often visit Bakewell because it is a lovely place to visit.The room was lovely,had a cottage feel to it.There were tea and coffee facility and biscuits and bottled water,and complementary toiletries too.There was some noise from the bar but it didn`t bother us especially after having a couple of drinks in the welcoming bar.The pub also serves excellent meals so we nearly always make the effort to have one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
53
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wish I’d read the previous reports before I had booked the room. Don’t stay here if you need to get to sleep before one in the morning. The noise from the bar is unbearable making sleep impossible. Although the Manners has many positive qualities I find it difficult to comment on them here, sleep deprivation will do that to you :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riffraff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed there recently and the noise at night was horrendous. Sleep was impossible till 2 a.m.

Be warned, by the way. If, like me, you book with debit cards over the phone they take the full cost of your stay out of your account immediately - and they refused point blank to send me an e3-mail confirming the booking. It means the only proof you have that you've paid is your own bank statement.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danish449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The rooms are nice: clean with plenty of tea & coffee.

This is a popular town pub, that happens to have 2 rooms for B&B. We stayed friday & saturday night & It was very very noisy, with most customers not leaving until 00:30-01:30.

There is a karaoke machine & the smoking area is situated beneath both bedroom windows.

Take ear plugs!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Had a great 3 nights stay here and took advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer!! Room was clean and tidy, great breakfast each morning, did not try the food in the evening but there was a good choice on the menu. The staff were more than accommodating during our stay and made us feel more than welcome. The Manners is ideally located and just a minutes walk to the centre of Bakewell a beautiful town with lots of good shops and plenty of pubs. Would definatley recommend Felicini an Italian restaurant just over the main bridge. We will definatly be re-visiting next year and tell friends and family.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 that was furthest away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bano075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with friends, one flight of stairs to the rooms which are spaceous with en-suite, kettle and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits .
We used the restaurant which had a good choice of dishes, all the food was fresh and served hot.
The brekfasts were big enough to set you up for the day.The town is only a 100 yds away from the shops, market and cafes etc.
The owners gave you a key to the outside door as well so you could come and go as you pleased, they were very welcoming and we would use this Hotel again .
The only thing to remember is that this is a busy bar area at night so don,t expect to get to sleep till after midnight.

Room Tip: Room 2 is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
1.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#14 of 44 in Bakewell
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manners

Property: The Manners
Address: Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manners is a local pub serving excellent food and drinks with two well presented double letting bedrooms, both with en suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Manners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing