We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely classic English tearoom with outdoor seating”
Review of Lavender Tea Rooms

Lavender Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely classic English tearoom with outdoor seating”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was a "must experience" experience since it is the top-rated in Bakewell, and we were not disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea, comprising of delicious fruity scones with strawberry jam and thick clotted cream plus teapots full of lovely tea. All overseen by a very efficient management team. Definitely one to go back to.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CockneyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    74
    32
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
274 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Not Excellent , But Almost”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were in Bakewell after an abortive visit to Eyam. It is some years since we visited and I must admit it looked as if it had seen a coat of paint recently. After a browse around the shops we decided to dive in somewhere for a cup of light refreshment. We came upon the Lavender Tea Room and we were surprised that it had any custom at all as it is tucked away in a corner up a little alleyway, however, the experience was very enjoyable.

I am a creature of habit and generally will have a cappuchino and a toasted teacake, on perusing the menu I found such item (toasted teacake) just as the bakers were delivering an order and I heard the immortal words "sorry, no tea cakes". I was dumbstruck, what on earth was I going to do? As it happened, another couple next to us also wanted a toasted teacake and alas they would be wanting as well!! This meant another look at the menu. After much deliberation I plumped for the "Lavender Cupcake" as did my wife and mother in law. I must admit the choice was spot on. The cake had a light fluffy texture whilst the lavender topping was quite hard but not unpleasant. My cappuchino was excellent as were the coffees of my compatriots.

The menu is quite compehensive for a tea room and those clients that had sandwiches looked well pleased.

The decor is light and airy and I loved the back ground music of the sixties and seventies era, all in all a nice mornings work. There were several clients who were greeted by their names so this is obviously a place that has repeat custom.

As we asked for the bill the delivery lady appeared again with the lost teacakes, I told her politely what she could do with them!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

A great afternoon tea as a special treat! Plenty of sandwiches and cakes. The tea kept on flowing too. The staff were really friendly, a really relaxing afternoon well worth the money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aglrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birthday treat from my friend”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant High tea with my friend as my birthday treat couldn't have been any better. The staff were brilliant and the food was first class will definitely be going again, cannot praise them any higher and they even put the cake wr couldn't eat in a bag for us to bring home-thanks for making my birthday special.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful! ”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited here and had the afternoon tea... It's enormous! A delightful place with lovely friendly staff, especially Gary!

Helpful?
Thank Metalguru69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender Tea Rooms also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Lavender Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing