We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little place, a real treat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lavender Tea Rooms

Lavender Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great little place, a real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

What a great little place, a real treat. Called in for lunch with a friend today – a very cold Bakewell day and the quickly delivered huge pot of tea was just what we needed. To eat for me the homemade fishcakes and while my friend had the soup; both generous portions and both very tasty. This little café was full of atmosphere, cheerful chat and a very warm welcome. I will most certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wootton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    74
    30
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheery banter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

After looking on trip advisor for a good tea room I visited this little gem with a friend today, we had lunch and based on that decided to purchase afternoon tea x4 as Christmas gifts. It's very obvious that they enjoy repeat custom as all the other people who were in were obviously regulars given the cheerful banter being bandied back and forth. The owner and staff are really friendly and welcoming and the lunch we had was lovely. Having bought afternoon tea for gifts I have to say I want to go again, what a pleasure to find somewhere with individual character and atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

....Meant in the nicest way!
It IS an experience to visit the Lavender Tea rooms. The decor and presentation of the place is not to be missed - it's so different from anywhere else.
The service is second to none and it must be popular as it was full (there is an upstairs as well as the downstairs) when we tried to visit on Saturday (Xmas in Bakewell weekend). Having been before we persevered and managed to secure the last table at lunchtime on Sunday.
Lovely tea and Bakewell puddings. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tea Room Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've had the pleasure of going to these tea rooms twice this year, once for a sophisticated hen party in the summer where we were able to book the upstairs area for a private afternoon tea, and most recently with a friend for a birthday treat. On both occasions I cannot fault the food, service or atmosphere. The tea rooms are situated in a wonderful little courtyard, an amazing setting where you could be anywhere in the world (apart from the weather sometimes giving it away!). The staff are very helpful and friendly. If I lived nearer I would be very poor and very overweight for the number of times I would like to visit these tea rooms! I have only ever had the afternoon tea but there are other options on the menu which look equally appetising. And whilst the cost of the afternoon tea is a little on the expensive side you won't be disappointed with the value for money in the amount of food and quality of it. Highly recommended for all ages and all occasions, from a sophisticated afternoon tea with a friend to a romantic visit with a partner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Found this tearoom by chance whilst looking for somewhere for a light lunch in Bakewell. Tucked in a courtyard of the main road through town, the charming tea room is full of warmth and character. The owner was very friendly and made you feel very much at home, whilst the beautiful china and décor made for a relaxing lunch. I had a sandwich and a pot of tea, which was lovely and fresh, and well presented. Managed to resist one of the homemade cakes on offer, but will definitely indulge on my next visit.

Would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing, tasty lunch in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavender Tea Rooms also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Lavender Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing