We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Four of us went to the Hotel for a birthday lunch today at 1pm. The restaurant was empty so we decided to eat in the Hotel bar. The menu was huge, not a good sign in my experience - you can't do thirty different meals well! We order mellon and parma ham, pigeon, fish cakes and a goats cheese and red onion tart to start. The fish cake and pigeon dishes were adequate the mellon and ham had a strange syrup on it which didn't add anything. The tart had been previously cooked and placed in the microwave to re-heat. It was sent back as it was stodgy, fatty and tasteless. Moving onto the main courses, which were three salmon linguine and a duck breast. The duck was OK. The linguine was cooked well but there was far too much cream in it, with essence of salmon. Not good. To drink with the food we had two sparkling water, one cider and a bottle of Pinot Grigio. Not good value either at £25 per head! Not somewhere I will be going again. A pity as we live in the town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    324
    146
    69
    34
See reviews for
105
479
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were staying in one of the courtyard rooms on a Sunday night for a nearby wedding. Having already been put off slightly by asking for an early check in and being told it would cost £15 - I've never been charged for this service anywhere else - we were then disappointed to be greeted with a car park not really fit for purpose and badly signposted. Nowhere near the right number of spaces for the number of rooms, and tricky to park in when most of the spaces were full.

When we went to check in the staff had to call to check that the room was ready (even though we were after the early check in time). The room itself was a bit shabby, with very insecure windows considering it was an externally facing, ground floor room. Also single paned windows so noisy with people going past. On the bedside table was a soaking wet towel - I'm not even sure what it was there for, but clearly whoever had been cleaning had left in a rush!

The bed was clean and comfortable, although the room was very warm due to the fact we couldn't open any windows as they were all full length.

Breakfast was included, there were a number of us and it was not possible to be seated together, the staff did not even try to make it possible for us to sit together, and again, there were not enough tables for the number of guests. The staff were rude and unhelpful and we waited almost half an hour for a breakfast which was overcooked and had clearly been on a hotplate for a long time. This was served with cold toast. We were encouraged to get items from the "cold buffet" but as it was late into the service there was barely anything left and it wasn't being replenished.

Overall this is an ok place to stay if you need a bed for the night but it is very overpriced for what you actually get, and the staff don't match the quality that the hotel makes itself out to be.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the courtyard if you can avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hi again, Keith and I went to a Nelson Society dinner this week end and we stayed at the Rutland Hotel in Bakewell, the Society have been going there for a few years but in the last couple they had to move to another Hotel because the Rutland became run down, this is no longer the case, it has been brought up to a good standard and the rooms are clean and bright. The staff are excellent and very friendly,the Rutland is the only hotel in Bakewell and has 40 rooms it is an ideal base to visit the surrounding area's. This was our first trip with the Society and we really enjoyed the week end. There is a lovely park just across the road and about 5 minutes walk you find the river Wye. Plus there are plenty of shops for that all important retail therapy.

Room Tip: As there is limited parking it is a good idea to get there early even though you cannot book in befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

If you must stay at this hotel avoid the courtyard rooms. Although they are the least expensive rooms they are awful and could not even be classed as 2 star!!!!!!! Our room had not been cleaned properly with other people's hair on the bathroom floor. They bed was very uncomfortable especially for my 6 foot tall husband. A total let down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is in need of a really big facelift. We thought we were giving ourselves a nice treat when we booked a night in the Rutland Arms, only to be disappointed the moment we walked into the shabby lobby, with worn out carpeting, chipped paintwork, odd signage and dowdy room. Modern bathroom fittings don't make up for low water pressure, and a tv is not much use without a tv controller. At £125 bed and breakfast you might like to think twice before you book here.

Room Tip: Ask when it was last updated, and what that means.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophieknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here in June whilst attending a small reunion and using a private dining room.
The hotel is old and a little quirky, a feature which we rather like. The hotel seemed well maintained and our room had recently been re furbished. Check in was friendly and we had no trouble parking in the hotel car park though I could foresee problems at busy times. The entrance to the car park is a little difficult if arriving from the Buxton direction. In this case go all the way around the roundabout before immediately turning right into the car park.
We did not dine in the main restaurant as we were having a set meal with about 30 friends in a private room. The meal was good value with good service but even so, the quality was a little disappointing. The breakfast was good however. Overall the staff appeared to be well motivated and trained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

How would you like being asked to move your car to accommodate a damn great Tourist Coach squeezing into the inadequate Hotel Car Park (which is away from the main Hotel building, being on the other side of a busy road junction and Roundabout).
Apparently the Coach Driver did not want to pay parking fees at the town Coach Park.
In the Hotel there are no lifts - to claim lift installation is not possible because it is an old building is nonsense, we stayed at Listed Grade Status Hotels that had modern lifts.
Our room was an oddity, with another smaller room partitioned off it and a locked door opening into ours. Some kind of "Family Room" provision I believe. With the hived off area incorporated back into the room space would have been adequate.
As it stands our room was not good enough though there was a commanding view of the Roundabout.
Food was cooked well, they are obviously blessed with a good Chef, but cursed with an unacceptable Breakfast waitress. Wi-Fi reception in the room was good, and that is about all. This Hotel would appear to be more interested in catering to Coach Parties rather than independent travelers. There was a sign on the door saying "Recommended by Trip Advisor" I wonder did they buy the sign at one of the town's many novelty and gift shops. This trip advisor does not recommend. Stayed 25 & 26 June 2013 and will not be staying again.

Room Tip: Upper Rooms will be quieter than those lower down, though they have to be accessed up stairs as no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank guestwithstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
390 reviews
3.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
166 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
691 reviews
8.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Bakewell
Bakewell Rutland Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing