We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb bar”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Superb bar, great fireplace , great location for bakewell....rooms a little plain and dated . Seems downstairs was refurbed but not the hotel rooms .ok for 1 night at 75quid b n b. Good car park and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    312
    142
    66
    34
See reviews for
103
468
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

£5.00 for a G&T need I say anymore, atmosphere was awful, radio 2 playing at the bar at 7:30 pm? For such a lovely decorated place it's such a shame . At least we can say as locals our curiosity has been fed and we will not be returning

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJade_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This recently refurbished hotel has impressive carpets and furniture, but looked unwelcoming on a January evening when the the temperature outside was only 4 degrees. There was no fire in either the lounge or restaurant. I needed to put my coat back on. On complaining, one of the staff members drew the curtains behind me which helped a little. A few flowers on the tables would have also gone a long way to cheer up the atmosphere.

Service was extremely slow despite there being only two other tables occupied, and staff were not customer friendly. It was very funny when I asked a question about the food, and the waitress went back to ask at the kitchen, and we could hear every word of the conversation that ensued. Later some music was played which added a little to the ambience.

The presentation of the food wasn't bad, but both my mussels and sea bass were a tad over cooked. It was notable that, although most tables were set for breakfast so few of us were braving dinner. At £25 for a steak, I guess most residents were out at one of the many more reasonable priced establishments in Bakewell.

This place was lovely when it was a family run hotel, but unless it pulls its socks up and reviews it prices, I can't see it surviving in the current economic climate. With its notable history and an attractive location, it has the potential to do so much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marythepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We usually stay in a b+b but choose the Rutland because we got a decent price for room with breakfast inc. excellent service on reception,room clean with tea/coffee facilities tv etc but too warm in night had to open a window even though it was -5 degrees outside.Shower had no water pressure so had to have a bath.A bit too formal at breakfast with waiter service,but it is a hotel so standards are set i suppose. Overall for 1 night it was just ok

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millerman1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while waiting to get into our cottage in Bakewell. We had seen it on TV and were a little skeptical but we were given a good price at short notice. We arrived at midnight and were met by the night porter who was very helpful. Our room was of a good size but was very cold. The hotel seemed cold all over. It was very cold outside and snowing but we had to stay close to the gorgeous coal fire in the lounge. Breakfast was good as was the service. The staff were all very helpful and couldn't be nicer. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but would probably not stay there again in the depths of winter.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tebor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed whilst in business and needed to work in the evening but wifi not available on any of the 3 mobile devices I had nor any of those of my colleague in either of our rooms. Carpet filthy. Bedding stained inadequate bedding given time of year and temperature of room. Glad I didn't pay out of my own pocket

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Room in the annex across the road from main building. A bit of a blind corner when crossing to go to the hotel Room very comfortable. Everything worked OK. Main building very good as was the service and food. Hopefully we will be there next January.

Room Tip: All parking space, which possibly is limited, is by the annex. Again driving out and turning left in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duck41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
675 reviews
3.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Bakewell
Bakewell Rutland Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing