We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit”
Review of Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Haddon Hall stands on a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Wye. One of the finest examples of a Medieval and Tudor manor house, open to visitors, with wonderful gardens.Visit Haddon Hall and truly step back in time. Visit our website for full details of opening times, prices, and our full list of special events.We also have a Restaurant selling fresh, local produce and a Gift Shop which carries a good range of locally sourced giftware.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Came here with a coach tour and really enjoyed our visit. There was an excellent guide (ex-policeman Kevin) to show us round and he made the history of the house really interesting, leading us efficiently from room to room so that we did not clash with other groups. Most impressive was the long gallery, the kitchen and the dining room (still used occasionally by the present hereditary owner) and a nicely-laid out garden with scented plants such as lavender.
We also enjoyed tea/coffee and scones/cake in the café and visited the gift shop which had some lovely cards and souvenirs which I have never seen elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kabiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    742
    304
    91
    43
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“would not revisit”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Was a little disappointed when we finally did visit this hall. There is not a lot to see - we went slowly but only took 45 minutes. Chatsworth is better value, charging £20and being well renovated and huge gardens, when Haddon Hall, which charges £10, is run down and in need of attention. It is also very dangerous under foot for people who are not fit in most entrances to rooms.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A welcome change from large stately homes”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We hadn't read about Haddon Hall so we were so surprised to come across this wonderful Tudor home. The history to this home was amazing!

We were almost able to imagine living here in Tudor times. The rooms were almost cosy. The long gallery was something else, quite grand and the panelling gave it a homely feel.

It's worth eating in the café, good food. Enjoyed the gardens between showers, great views.

If you are mobility impaired this is most probably not a good place to visit, with a steep incline and uneven floors

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank smudge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best House visited in Derbyshire”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a lovely time at Haddon Hall Its is a lovely place with good staff and a feeling of history. It was good to see the old furniture that had been used over the years So much better than the museums that pass for family homes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LKTHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unspoiled history”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Starting with the oldest surviving kitchen in Britain (and Europe?) and ending with several Tudor rooms, you'll find genuine history here, including furniture, unscathed by modern "upgrades." The video offered is worth watching, at leaset for the first 20 minutes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BinPerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haddon Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Haddon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing