We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas day out with the family”
Review of Chatsworth House

Chatsworth House
Book In Advance
More Info
$708.71*
and up
5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North...
Ranked #7 of 29 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chatsworth, home of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, is set in the heart of the Peak District in Derbyshire, on the banks of the river Derwent. Explore the historic house for fascinating stories and one of Europe's most significant art collections. In the garden, discover water features, giant sculptures and beautiful flowers set in Britain's most stunning and surprising country estate. Or come face to face with our farm animals in our working farmyard and enjoy adventurous fun in the playground. Furthermore, with holiday cottages and hotels, shops and restaurants, including Britain's best farm shop, you can really make the most of your time with us.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Day out to see the christmans decorations. very interesting for our 3 years old. she loved dressing up. Staff very friendly, the farm wasnt brillant ive seen better. the farm shop in good. Only part of the house is open at this time of year

Thank jdldgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"adventure playground"
in 204 reviews
"christmas market"
in 326 reviews
"gift aid"
in 124 reviews
"water features"
in 142 reviews
"alice in wonderland"
in 89 reviews
"rock garden"
in 84 reviews
"play area"
in 77 reviews
"audio tour"
in 75 reviews
"stately home"
in 321 reviews
"modern art"
in 156 reviews
"flower show"
in 75 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 176 reviews
"duke and duchess"
in 80 reviews
"christmas decorations"
in 157 reviews
"garden centre"
in 76 reviews
"on line"
in 98 reviews
"farm shop"
in 357 reviews
Filter

5,572 - 5,576 of 6,652 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Got tickets via a Travelzoo deal and thoroughly enjoyed our day.The house and gardens are just stunning. We spent so much time in the house and gardens we didn't have time to visit the farm shop. Only criticism is that there are too many people in the house at once so it's difficult to wander at leisure - standing in line was the most common.

Thank Solotrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've been to Chatsworth several times before and enjoyed it. This was our first visit whilst the house was trimmed up for Christmas and it wasn't a special experience, it was so busy that the tour of the house was basically a long queue! The tour didn't include a lot of the rooms that are normally open, so disappointing in that respect. The Christmas decorations were very nice but not worth a special trip in my view. The Christmas market was very good and worth a good look round. Chatsworth itself is a special place and deserving of the publics subsidy, if you see it like that then the high prices charged are perhaps justified?

1  Thank JGM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Chatsworth is one of my very favourite places to visit, but at Christmas it is utterly beautiful and amazing. Chose to visit with friends by coach on this occasion. On arrival we were met with a member of staff who explained the whereabouts of everything - very professional. The Christmas Market was one of the best and all the food provisions were of high quality etc. We enjoyed a lovely delicious meal in the stables restaurant - returning after visiting the house for a nice slice of xmas cake and glass of wine. I have saved the best till last - the Christmas decorations - unsurpassed and utterly georgeous !
The snow queen and Peter pan were brilliant. The staff who work so hard deserve much praise , it must take them forever just to decorate the trees ! The dining room was amazing. I hope they know how luck they are to work in such an amazing place. Anyway - enough - take a trip ! Lol

Thank Lizzywhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I live fairly locally so am familiar with Chatsworth in its ordinary, non-festive splendour but went again yesterday with a friend who had travelled up from a different part of the country eager to see the Christmas decorations.

We enjoyed the Christmas market and thought it all very well organised even if the car parking was a tad expensive at £10 per car. But the decorations and panto theme inside the house was extremely disappointing and even amateurish. I had expected so much more. The panto displays were very poor and rather tacky and although there were decorated christmas trees galore, none of them were 'wow' in the slightest and I didn't think that any of the decorations were up to a professional standard. We felt that we'd just wasted our £13 senior citizen ticket.costs not to mention transport expenses.

So my advice is don't bother to go to Chatsworth at this time of year but go in the spring or summer when more of the beautiful house is open and the splendid gardens can be enjoyed in better weather.

Christmas decorations? Bah!

Thank sammysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChatsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Chatsworth House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with Christmas displays in the house.
Until we began winter opening in 2001, the entire house was closed in the winter, so we have offered visitors a separate Christmas season since that time, concentrating our decorations on the lower floors only so that conservation can still take place on the second floor. We ensure that visitors are still able see many of the most splendid rooms in the house, but it is deliberately a different experience to a visit during other times of year. We understand that the appreciation of the decorations in the house is very subjective and it is obviously not possible to appeal to everyone’s taste and are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We will take your comments into account when planning future Christmas decorations and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatsworth House also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Chatsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing