We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming holiday home in picturesque Bakewell.”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CamM316
1 review
“Charming holiday home in picturesque Bakewell.”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at this delightful, family friendly spacious characterful house in the picturesque town of Bakewell. It is a short walk from the town and shops of this very pretty town. We didn't need to use the car all weekend as there are lots of easily accessible walks nearby. The house is spacious with a gorgeous large vaulted ceiling in the living room which gives it a lovely airy feel. The kitchen is a sit in kitchen with all mod cons, plenty of room and well equipped. The garden is charming, reached by a steep pathway of steps to a lovely seated area with a terraced garden. We will definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Really pleased that you enjoyed your time there, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavoRutla...
Rutland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean!”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Eight of us stayed here at the beginning of June for a long weekend. Two problems with this cottage -,firstly it's absolutely right on the main road, so it's pretty noisy and there's a streetlight outside which shines brightly into one of the bedrooms and secondly and most importantly, whilst it was superficially clean, it really needed a thorough deep clean of the bathrooms, Windows, curtains, carpets etc. The carpet and net curtain in our room were very grubby. Our friends found a pair of used tights under their bed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Hi Sarah, Gosh what a shock to receive this nearly 3 months after your stay, there was no hint of complaint in our emails at the time, I am so sorry to hear of them now. We take guests comments very seriously and always learn from them. In 9 years, we haven't had any complaints regarding the street light, but I am changing the blind following your comment. We don't have any carpets or curtains (apart from organza) in the house - just rugs and blinds - in order to ensure cleanliness. The organza curtain in your room was brand new - perhaps I have chosen the wrong shade. I am so sorry that on reflection you found the house not up to standard. We will continue to ensure our regular thorough clean is kept on its toes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyage728...
1 review
“Perfect base to explore the Peak District”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The Victoria Cottage in Bakewell is a most relaxing and enjoyable place, the ideal base for our photography tour in the Peak District.
The house is beautiful and has a fresh homely feel. Comfortable beds and a great spacious lounge are complemented by a well designed and superbly equipped kitchen.
We had some magic moments in the charming terrace garden with pergola and a stunning view.
Great location with all shops, pubs etc just a minute down the road, trails to the green hills on the door step and plenty of buses that take you anywhere in the area and out.
You don’t necessarily need a car to discover the Peak District.

A unique place, highly recommendable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the house. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you so much! Delighted you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Thank you so much, I am delighted you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandTour...
1 review
“spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A spacious cottage in the pretty town of bakewell. The proximity of shops and good walks was a great advantage. I would go there again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to have you stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family break for 11”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Delightful well appointed large property with 5 bedrooms, large kitchen, dining room , huge lounge and games rooms. Unable to take advantage of the garden as the weather was wet, but it's delightful with views over the house to the opposite side of the valley. Room for parking 3 or 4 cars but difficult to enter/leave as it's a busy road

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing