We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, clean, spacious and perfect for a...”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnaCrab1...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house, clean, spacious and perfect for a reunion!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

14 of us stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. The lounge is big and comfortable and all 14 of us just managed to squash round the kitchen table. The house was well equipped and warm. The courtyard was only big enough for 3 cars which was fine for us. It's ideally situated in Bakewell and for walks from there. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds! Spacious lounge and location.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan E
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely little find”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a fantastic weekend at this lovely house. Spotlessly clean throughout, well equipped kitchen and other amenities (wifi in particular). Very spacious so we could all go off and do our own thing and then come together in the large kitchen or sitting room. The decor throughout was lovely,all of the rooms were comfortable and there were plenty of clean towels. Bakewell and surrounding areas are beautiful - lovely walks and pubs and lots of really interesting shops.
This is one to be highly recommended and we will definately be booking it again.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulk-0927
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, but needs a good clean!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We hired this cottage out for a friends 30th birthday and we were over the moon when we arrived. It is spacious, warm, with lots of character. We were able to park four cars on the drive which was a bonus too. The kitchen was large and became the social hub throughout the weekend. The rooms were well appointed. The only downside was the cleanliness. Whilst cooking on the hob, we noticed grease dripping from the cooker hood which I ended up having to clean. The decor seems generally tired, but that aside, it was a really nice place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2013
I am delighted that you had a good time but extremely perturbed about your comment about the cleanliness. I am so sorry, I know our cleaner will be as horrified as I am by this. We take great pride in the state of the place and decorate on a regular basis as well as the obvious clean after each visit. The cooker hood will be given an overhaul! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiserEver...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Want to do it all again!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I haven't been outside of London for years, so was eager to get away. Bakewell was absolutely stunning to visit. Such a beautiful little town with gorgeous surrounding hills. I really couldn't have asked for more, and Victoria House was perfect - located right by the town, yet so peaceful and quiet. I'm obsessively fussy about cleanliness, and all the rooms, bathrooms & kitchen lived up to my high expectations. Clean linens, towels, even soaps & shampoos were all provided for, and the kitchen was well equipped. There was even a superbly cozy den separate from the house itself, perfect for snuggling up in with drinks in the evenings.
Would happily re-book the next time I get the chance to escape London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: interesting and expansive layout - you can escape indoors
Liked least: kitchen extract - hit head a few times
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Drnigel
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Central Location for exploring”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here for three days in November as a family get together for birthday celebrations. There are a tiny couple of tricky bits. Getting in and out of the car parking can be a little challenging as it does come out onto the main road through Bakewell, but with a person helping it's OK. The garden is not really suitable for toddlers as there are some steep steps up. Apart from that this is a great place. It is well stocked with kitchen kit and crockery, has a great separate dining room and it's good to have 2 bathrooms. It's nicely quirky and has a great sitting room which took us all. There are easy flat walks into Bakewell (the one along the stream and river is great for the kids to see ducks) and some good challenging walks across the countryside. directly from the cottage. The rooms are all a good size and the beds were comfy. Just a tip, we took a travel blackout blind as we like it really dark and the bedrooms on the front do have some street lighting outside. If you want to explore this area of the UK this is a great base.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElanorSco...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A beautiful stone cottage full of character and like nowhere we've ever stayed before. It was comfortable and cosy but also spacious. The surrounding unspoilt architecture and countryside make you feel like you've travelled back in time by a hundred years. The memories we've acquired over our holiday will last our family a lifetime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$444
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing