We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Want to do it all again!”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
79 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suzie245
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Want to do it all again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I haven't been outside of London for years, so was eager to get away. Bakewell was absolutely stunning to visit. Such a beautiful little town with gorgeous surrounding hills. I really couldn't have asked for more, and Victoria House was perfect - located right by the town, yet so peaceful and quiet. I'm obsessively fussy about cleanliness, and all the rooms, bathrooms & kitchen lived up to my high expectations. Clean linens, towels, even soaps & shampoos were all provided for, and the kitchen was well equipped. There was even a superbly cozy den separate from the house itself, perfect for snuggling up in with drinks in the evenings.
Would happily re-book the next time I get the chance to escape London.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: interesting and expansive layout - you can escape indoors
Liked least: kitchen extract - hit head a few times
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Drnigel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Central Location for exploring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here for three days in November as a family get together for birthday celebrations. There are a tiny couple of tricky bits. Getting in and out of the car parking can be a little challenging as it does come out onto the main road through Bakewell, but with a person helping it's OK. The garden is not really suitable for toddlers as there are some steep steps up. Apart from that this is a great place. It is well stocked with kitchen kit and crockery, has a great separate dining room and it's good to have 2 bathrooms. It's nicely quirky and has a great sitting room which took us all. There are easy flat walks into Bakewell (the one along the stream and river is great for the kids to see ducks) and some good challenging walks across the countryside. directly from the cottage. The rooms are all a good size and the beds were comfy. Just a tip, we took a travel blackout blind as we like it really dark and the bedrooms on the front do have some street lighting outside. If you want to explore this area of the UK this is a great base.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElanorSco...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A beautiful stone cottage full of character and like nowhere we've ever stayed before. It was comfortable and cosy but also spacious. The surrounding unspoilt architecture and countryside make you feel like you've travelled back in time by a hundred years. The memories we've acquired over our holiday will last our family a lifetime.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMS833
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Accommodation in the Perfect Peak District Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a great week here with my grown-up family and grandchildren. The property has much to commend it. It historically and architecturally fascinating.
It's location at Bakewell make its an ideal base and the centre of town is a short flat walk along an old mill stream. it is well furnished and equipped, although the dishwasher is showing its age. The garden and it's equipment is a little neglected. All in all though a good place to stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2013
Delighted that you had a perfect holiday. A new dishwasher is now on order. We have a gardener working all year around but in the summer holidays - when garden growth is most prolific! - the house is booked continuously so there is only four hours each Saturday to get everything done otherwise the gardener would be intruding on the privacy of the guests. Perhaps I should reconsider this and allow guests the option? Very happy to take thoughts on that. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
389Michae...
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We followed up my daughters wedding with a family gathering before my Sister went back to Australia. We had between 9 and 11 adults/grown up kids staying at any one time but the place is easily big enough to cope. It is a quirky spot but quirky good! Lots of room to mix together or get a bit of peace and quiet. Everything you could need is provided. We squeezed 4 cars on the drive which when you see local permit holder parking all over was handy to say the least.
The location is really great as it is a short walk to all Bakewell has to offer which suited us fine. The golf course is worth a trip with great views and is a good challenge - and hilly!! . Haddon Hall too was enjoyed by all. Didnt rate Felicini's though - not a disaster just mediocre.
So all in all we had a great time and loved the Cottage (and the scorching weather).

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the space
Liked least: The beds were bit too soft for us - but we do have very firm at home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$293
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing