We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoil yourself it's worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spoil yourself it's worth it”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We Stayed for Saturday night dinner and an overnight stay for our wedding anniversary and the experience is well over and above expectations. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff, who are all very friendly and there always seems to be somebody available. The dinner was excellent comfortably 5 star, as was the individually served fresh cooked breakfast. The room was both huge and quirky with an internal balcony style window, complete with table and chairs to sit and take in the magnificent views of the Derbyshire countryside.
This really is a gem of a hotel in which to spoil yourself.

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms, so I doubt there is a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    62
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
105
224
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have recently had a Golden Wedding Celebration here. What a joy it was from first booking to the actual evening. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful without being too gushing. The food was absolutely wonderful and the atmosphere at this lovely hotel was warm and the surroundings
Beautiful. Top marks for everything. Dinah G.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spoiled ourselves by staying overnight when we could quite easily have had a taxi home -
but why should it just be visitors who get all the plums?!
Having dined here for getting on for forty years we have on three occasions stayed overnight -
usually to impress friends from the South (!) but this time it was just the two of us - Pampered!
Cannot overdescribe the experience of staying at one of the most beautiful houses in the Peak Park - one that just ouses atmosphere and is staffed by efficient and qualified people who are genuinely interested in their guests.
Can't wait until the next time. We often stay in London and frankly have found nothing to compare - even when paying twice the price.
Well done and please carry on - you have a National treasure here and must never consider
selling up.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front - but they all have decent aspects from the mullioned windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel deserves 6 stars!! The staff are professional, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The house is unique, very beautiful and homely. Our room was stunning with views over the formal gardens and a fabulous, huge bathroom, roll top bath with tv, walk through drench shower & fluffy robes.
The food is traditional and the menu is extensive, the chef deserves a special mention as every course of every meal we had was fantastic.
Our 2 dogs were made very welcome and there are lots of lovely walks near the hotel.
We had a small, intimate wedding ceremony in the Green Sitting room which was wonderful. Both Richard and Tom went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us and our guests.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Quality... A truly warm and professional welcome, began our stay. Room 15 was beautiful, with several steps which require 'remembering' before partaking of an evening drink!

Choosing our menu prior to going into the dining room took some time; such a large, varied choice of all the courses. What an amazing feat to offer and then prepare such quality food.

The table was set perfectly and really set the scene for the outstanding meal.The service was just the right balance of professional linked with welcoming.
A tip. The dining room was really hot the evening we dined (February).Three of the four of us commented on it and two actually felt light headed. Advise layers of clothing to adjust to your level of comfort!

We slept well and the breakfast was brought on a table into the room and placed in the bay window, where the morning sun shone brightly onto us.

When we packed and left we vowed to return...maybe on a warm summer's evening when the dining room windows are open!

Room Tip: Room 15 is a bath with shower attachment. Amazing round window in the bathroom, but for a stand up s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank besssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here one night while attending a wedding party in Eyam so didn't eat here in the evening. We splashed out on a superior room with four-poster (room 14) which cost us £230 + breakfast.
The room was huge with lovely views of the gardens and countryside, and a massive fireplace. The bathroom had been beautifully refurbished with a massive drench shower and a stand-alone bath, his and hers basins etc. The bed was very comfortable. Staying here really does feel like staying in someone's home more than a hotel. Yes that means that some of the furniture is a bit shabby, some of the service is a bit quirky but isn't that what is wonderful about a genuine country house rather than the bland consistency of a chain hotel? The places simply oozes character. I would definitely go back and next time take our Labrador as its wonderful dog-walking country and I'm sure she'd feel feel at home here. Be aware if you're staying here but partying elsewhere (or vice versa) that taxis in deepest darkest Derbyshire are hard to find!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hassop Hall is a very special place. our favourite. Please do not let Alex Polizi get near it as someone suggested. The rooms are not your standard room its like staying in a stately home. With such attention to detail.
So many hotels are the same contemporary style, but not at Hassop Hall, We just love the furniture . the food is good English, Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff. The gardens are superb. We have stayed in hotels all over the world Hassop Hall is still the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicelilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
659 reviews
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Property: Hassop Hall Hotel
Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing