We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place you go to impress others. Beautiful, elegant but not quite romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The place you go to impress others. Beautiful, elegant but not quite romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place ticked all the boxes with a few exceptions. The rooms are huge and gorgeous, the bathroom was amazing, the grounds stunning but we left after spending what was supposed to be a romantic evening feeling like we hadn't quite gotten our money's worth.

I think the main reason was the lack of introduction by the staff member who checked us in. She just walked us to our room, handed us a key and left. There was no explanation of how things worked, which meant it took us until the next day to work out the door in our room wasn't connecting to an adjoining room as anyone who has stayed in a number of hotels would assume, but a cupboard holding a space heater and ironing board. The former was definitely needed given the cold weather.

We booked in for the dinner at the restaurant and were also seated right next to the kitchen. There was a screen and the staff, particularly the wine waiter were very attentive but the seating made no sense. There weren't that many people there the night we stayed so why seat a couple who were obviously looking for a romantic evening next to the kitchen when there were other tables clearly available? Albeit we could have said something, and should have but given this was our one night together on a family packed trip to the UK, we didn't want to deal with any confrontation of any kind. Essentially when I booked Hassop Hall I booked it for a seamless night away and given the expense, I was hoping for more.

That said, the lady working at the bar stood out as being brilliant for both politeness and making us feel at home when we came down for a pre-dinner drink and the ladies who brought our breakfast were also lovely. They're the reason I'm not giving this place three stars.

I guess I can't give this place the five stars everyone else does because I booked it to have a small hotel feel but the initial check in and checkout felt so much like staying somewhere impersonal like the airport Hilton we stayed at on our arrival that I just can't. First impressions matter and I was hoping for more, at the very least a smile on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    62
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
105
225
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Recently had some friends over from France. They loved the rooms, loved the setting and most of all the food was exceptional. This hotel deserves its success. We have eaten here many times and never had anything but great food in a warm dining room. I must also compliment the service, it is flawless under head waiter John.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidshef01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ive been a regular customer at Hassop Hall for years and actually had my wedding reception here many moons ago. Its almost like taking a step back in time as the ambiance and customer service, attention to detail and standards are so high. We always recieve a personal welcome from Mr Chapman jnr and always feel special on our visits. The food is excellent quality, the venue English at its best. Advisable to book as generally very busy. Well done Hassop Hall.

Room Tip: Only ever stayed in the Briadal Suite, which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hassop Hall is a fabulous place to stay! Certainly attention to detail! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The food is fantastic and can't be faulted in any way! The staff can't do enough for you! Would truly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I wanted something special to celebrate our wedding anniversary and Hassop Hall certainly delivered! We booked in under one of their Bed Breakfast and Evening Meal Packages, from the welcome all the way through to time spent between the sheets, this establishment just breathes opulence. We booked into Room 17, a very spacious room with a four poster bed, settee and chairs. Best of all marvellous views over the peak district park, this scene was made all the more special was the snowy vista following the march snow storms. Catering was excellent, the evening dinner menu was extensive and certainly we were spoilt for choice, we ended up choosing the Duck which was tender and succulent, veg cooked just right, this followed by the sweet trolley or a choice of hot sweets. Coffee to follow just ended a great evening. The staff are to be commended for their attentiveness, we wanted for nothing. Breakfast was delivered to the room and proved to set the right tone as we looked out over the grounds and surrounding countryside. This is the first time we have stopped at Hassop Hall, having been their previously with family just to eat, will we return, you bet we will, my wife has already started saving for next year, yes it could be viewed as expensive, but that being said and quantifying it all, "you get what you pay for" and in the case of Hassop Hall, it is definately a par above the rest. Wholly recommended for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have marvellous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0rgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked a night at Hassop Hall Hotel as a surprise for my husband to celebrate our anniversary and it did not disappoint. Although it's supposed to be spring there was lots of snow around which looked pretty around the grounds. We spent the morning walking along The nearby Monsall Trail to Bakewell and then enjoyed chilling out in our lovely big bedroom which looked out into the gardens. The bathroom was massive with a stand alone bath, powerful shower and tv!
Dinner was marvellous, the food, surroundings and the service was impeccable. All the staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful. It's a definite 10 out of 10 from us and we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Room 14 had great views over grounds, spacious rooms with 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lors68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have been going to Hassop Hall for many years and on every occasion found everything from the service to the quality of the food to be so special and excellent.I am delighted to say that this still stands.We stayed on 22 nd March 2013 and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you can choose a garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Property: Hassop Hall Hotel
Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing