We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What better way to relax in the country?”
Review of Hassop Hall Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hassop Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a delight. Beautiful scenery, charming towns and villages and a splendid country house hotel. We booked this on the spur of the moment on a Friday evening for the following night...we were lucky that there had been a cancellation and we were given a splendid top floor room with everything you could wish for: from a sofa overlooking open countryside to a slipper bath with a waterproof remote enabling a leisurely bath whilst watching TV (never done that before!) and a massive wet room style walk in shower. A character property with lots of interest from an architectural point of view. Stands at the end of a private drive only a short distance from Bakewell and Chatsworth. Dinner choice was from an incredibly long menu - giving you the option of very simple to highly complex cuisine. Service had a time-warp elegance to it...that's not a complaint, just an observation. And, in the morning, we would normally shun the opportunity for breakfast in bed - few rooms are large enough to cope. But when you are positively encouraged to do so, we were tempted and were treated to a wonderful English Breakfast...and hot despite coming all the way up from the kitchens. When we left we felt we had just enjoyed a few days away rather than just one night. We will definitely be back...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spectacle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 496 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

me and my wife dined here with her parents mid week and the food was to die for the setting itself was like being transported back in time as was the service, it was like being in a episode of downton abbey, i had the lamb from the silver service which was carved in front of me and by no means a small portion then we had a pudding after and the cost was around £26 for the meals which wasnt bad for the service we received. please note although i have marked the sleeping and rooms as excellent i didnt stay here i just dined.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robster1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to take a couple of days out of our hectic schedule to relax in the Peak District and spent the night at Hassop Hall. It was everything we would have wished for: quiet, peaceful, wonderful room (standard double), attentive staff and good food. No 'ifs' or 'buts' just lovely. Hassop Hall retains echos of a bygone era which makes it even more special. Thank you. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Returned for lunch for a family treat and once again everything was perfect. Fabulous food, fabulous service and made the occassion very special. Hassop remains my favourite place in Derbyshire, second to none!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazNice37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My sister booked one of the private dining rooms at Hassop Hall for a small family get together to celebrate my mum’s 80th birthday. We all had a wonderful time. This is a beautiful place, not overly formal and pretentious but full of the charm and elegance of earlier times. The staff could not have been more attentive and we were all made to feel very special from the moment we arrived. Our lunch was served in a beautiful room with lovely views over the grounds, and the food was delicious. I especially loved the small touches like the bowl of fruit on the table and the wonderful Turkish delight served with coffee at the end of the meal. All in all, a very special place. I would love to return. Thank you sis!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah503843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just spent a great weekend at Hassop Hotel. What a great place. The staff were excellent and very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was second to none. Lots of choice on the menue. The room was really comfy, with a large four poster bed. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has wonderfull views. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 27, fourposter bed.Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I celebrated my 50th birthday at Hassop Hall with a small gathering of family and friends and it was truly amazing. We picked this hotel based on comments from trip advisor - what a great choice!!!! The building, setting, ambience and wonderful staff made my birthday the best ever. There is nothing that I would have changed as everything was perfect. The staff paid such attention to every detail and ensured that each person in the party was looked after and treated like royalty. The quality of the food is second to non and the service is fantastic - so skilled.

I cannot recommend this hotel and it's staff highly enough. If you are looking for a venue which is extra special, not corporate in any way and in beautiful surroundings, then look no further.

There's also so much to enjoy in Bakewell - we all waked down the road and hired bicycles to ride into the town - what fun!!! To top off this hotel there is a lovely village pub about 100 yards from the main gate which sells real ale - how much better could it get???

Room Tip: All rooms are great but room 25 is a bit special. Lovely views, great size and roll top bath like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 840Nikki_S840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.6 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
706 reviews
8.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassop Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassop Hall Hotel

Address: Hassop, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: $130 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Hassop Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing