We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed”
Review of Le Mistral - CLOSED

Le Mistral
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Treated family to a meal over the Christmas break - quite disappointed. Very slow service, took more than an hour to receive the first course and when it came one of them was very overcooked. To be fair, the main courses were more punctual after we brought this to their attention, and were actually delicious, and they amended our bill to reflect the problems we had. It does spoil things a bit, though, and would like to think that, particularly as regular customers, we would have been looked after a little more efficiently.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireBizzibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    84
    32
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Have just been to Le Mistral in Bakewell for the first time. Whilst the service was OK, the portions were small and the food was less than mediocre. A grim experience which I won't be repeating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ibsammieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Level Contributor
94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

First of all I would have liked to rate this as "Good" , while it was not "Very Good" average seems unfair.
The place is lovely, has a nice intimate feel. We were welcomed by friendly staff.
We decided to eat here at Lunchtime after being recommended by several people who know I am vegetarian. I was spoilt for choice from the 2 menu's and the Specials on offer. My starter came with a mixed salad and sliced baguette which was good, I then ordered my main of Vegetarian Cassoulet which also came with salad and sliced baguette. While this was enjoyable it was not memorable and would have benefitted from being served with vegetables not salad. My husband had smoked salmon, admittedly there was a mistake and they gave him the starter not the main (this was noted immediately by the waitress and rectified) but even so it was salad, briny capers and new potatoes in butter, again nice but not memorable. The wine list is very very good with many of the 'premium' wines being available by the glass and at a reasonable price.
Overall despite the little niggles above, we will definately be going back but we will just pay a little more attention to what a dish is accompanied with. The staff are very good and attentitive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed & expensive for a very very average meal”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Real shame, lovely looking place but the meal was very poor. I had hummus starter which was described as with salad....mmmmmh only lettuce leaf no other salad!! Standard bread stick with i suspect shop bought hummus - the starter was extremely basic. Feel robbed!

For main course i had turkey xmas dinner , sorry this was the most dull, flavourless, tepid and stingy xmas dinner i have ever encountered.

The service however was prompt & polite, certainly better than the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Need to be careful when ordering!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Always worth a trip but you do need to be careful about ordering. We ordered the steak cooked medium - but it came on the rare side of medium/rare. Otherwise great evening out. Aim for Sunday to Wednesday - two meals plus a bottle of wine for £26 is good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gritstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mistral also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing