We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Mistral - CLOSED

Le Mistral
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very impressed with the food and service on our first visit. We both had 3 courses and coffees and found the whole experience very pleasant. Won't hesitate to return in the near future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    84
    32
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Dined here with my partner and his family for an evening meal, it's a typical Bistro, great decor and relaxed atmosphere, the food was excellent, there was a really good choice and also a special board with plenty of choice,I would definitely recommend the vegetarian Beetroot tartlet, which was delicious, and the creme brulee was amazing. The service was very good and the staff were very pleasant. If we stayed in the area would definitely revisit, looks like a great place for a relaxing morning coffee.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali00_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had been looking forward to eating at Le Mistral for a while, having had lunch at the Wirksworth branch a few years ago. We booked in for an evening meal and (being greedy) ordered a baked camembert starter to share, which was beautiful. I had swordfish with risotto to follow and, again, this was absolutely superb (as was my partner's pork belly). Feeling fairly stuffed we guiltily asked for the tarte au citron to follow...fortunately for our waistlines, we never got to taste it as the order was forgotten. The waiting staff were slow throughout and seemed to be more occupied with polishing glasses / setting tables round the corner from us than attending to their customers. When we gave up waiting for service and went to the till to pay, they tried to charge us for the desserts we'd never had. An off-hand apology was given, but no discount on what was a fairly hefty bill. What a shame! The food was superb and I would be happy to pay for such good quality without grumbling too much, but it was sorely let down by the rubbish service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dined here with friends for a casual mid week dinner.

It has a very rustic feel inside and the staff are very helpful.

As well as the a la carte menu, there is also a specials board with plenty of choice.

We didn't look at the wine list, however there were plenty of wines on display.

We ordered starters (stuffed mushrooms, french onion soup, salmon fishcakes) which arrived promptly, and were quite tasty.

For main, we all decided on the rib eye steak with chips and salad, which was cooked beautifully. We also chose a peppercorn sauce and a cheese sauce. We didn't bother with any other sides but you could have all sorts - salad, veg, bread, chips, olives.

For dessert I had New York Cheesecake - others had bakewell pudding and crème brûlée - again it didn't fail to disappoint.

The only slight disappointment was my latte - it was a little bitter - however nothing a lump of sugar couldn't sort!

We dined using a "tastecard" so all the above plus 2 glasses of house wine, 2 beers, 2 vodka and lemonade, 1 coke and a bottle of water for the table came to about £20 each /£40 per couple (there were four of us).

Even without 50% off our food bill we would go again - it really was lovely

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sairsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tres bon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Dined here recently on a spur of the moment Friday evening visit. No reservation but no problem and were seated immediately (I do advise booking though) Superb menu range and excellent choices for vegetarian diets. Service was swift and the food was superb. The goats cheese tart was lovely. good wine menu too but try the Normandy Cider for a refreshing chance.
All reasonably priced at around £30 a head for 3 courses and drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mistral also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing