We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expectations slightly dashed”

Naughty & Nice Cafe Bistro Ice Cream Parlour Chocolatier
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“expectations slightly dashed”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go here based on the good reviews. It is by no means bad but compared to similar type places we have been it did disappoint slightly. The location was lovely, we sat outside in the little courtyard. The food and cakes etc were lovely. Recommend the sausage oatcake. It just didnt make me feel like i had to go back which is what the other reviews seemed to indicate would be the result of going. That is purely my opinion as others may indeed feel differently.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrswhymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    43
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
2 reviews
“Worth Finding”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this place quite by accident, its slightly off the main shopping street, but are so glad we did. We had black coffee and smoothie, a piece of carrot cake and a huge meringue with a mountain of fruit and cream. All was excellent, the cakes are homemade and the staff are very friendly. They have also opened a chocolate café now, where they sell chocolates made by them, so we bought a few as a treat. Very very good!!! This place seems to care greatly about everything they do. Got to go back now to try their real hot chocolate………..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place and no crowds”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Found this place next to Costa, lovely court yard when sunny and tables out the front. compared to many places in Bakewell this is very good and you may have a chance to find a table. service good (order at counter) and the food was really nice. Will certainly use this place every time we visit from now on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who needs Costa?”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Don't get me wrong, I think Costa do great coffee but when you have a friendly, individual and quirky tea shop like Naughty and Nice in a town, well I can go to Costa anywhere, but when my wife and I visit Bakewell we always go to Naughty and Nice. Why? Well for one thing the staff are so friendly, and although we're not local so only visit every few weeks, they always remember us. The coffee is excellent, the chocolate brownies I can highly recommend, the outside courtyard on a sunny day is great to sit in, there are some lovely quirky comments in the menu, but most of all it's the friendly staff that appeal. So go to Costa when you're in a city or on the motorway - in Bakewell treat yourself to something different.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lover066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have eaten at Naughty Nice several times now. The food is smashing, the cakes sensational, I esp like the soup and a sandwich option. The butched up afternoon tea for Fathers Day was fantastic, so glad we treated Daddy to that one! We also visited on Easter weekend and the egg hunt they organised with the other Kings Court shops was lovely with a fabulous chocolate egg given on completion of the hunt. On a couple of occasions we have booked a table in advance and nothing is too much trouble for the Naughty Nice team who are always helpful and friendly both via Facebook and in person. The setting is fabulous and combined with a trip to Baked Well it makes for a lovely Bakewell outing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodfoodisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naughty & Nice Cafe Bistro Ice Cream Parlour Chocolatier also viewed

 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing