We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful cafe with friendly staff”
Review of Hobb's Cafe

Hobb's Cafe
Ranked #7 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe and craft centre with stunning views over Monsal Dale.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A beautiful cafe with friendly staff”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The view from the garden of this cafe is one of the best I've seen it overlooks Monsal dale and the viaduct. The garden furniture is comfy lots of dog bowls the interior is very nice too, spotless, lovely friendly staff. Food is delicious home made good choice. They have a lovely craft shop too. The food isn't cheap but value for money is good as quality is very high. We will be back. The ice cream van that is outside the cafe is amazing too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    33
    8
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tea Shop with poor attitude”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We took friends who were visiting the Peak District for the first time on a walk from Bakewell to Ashford via Monsal Head & called in Hobb's for lunch.
The lunch was pleasant & staff efficient, we also purchased a couple of gifts in the shop so ended up spending about £50.
As we were having a great day we decided to carry on along the trail & back along Millers Dale, arriving back at Monsal Head 2 hours later. With the two wives lagging behind & Hobb's cafe about to close (4.15pm) we thought a quick coffee would be nice & ordered two cups and sat outside. When our wives finally caught up they fancied an Ice cream from the van parked opposite (Fredericks of Chesterfield - excellent) Seeing the icecreams being purchased a staff member came out & pointed out that we should have purchased icecream from him & therefore must not sit with us at his outside table (There was only us siting outside & no one else around so we were not depriving them of seating space).
The attitude of the staff at this point spoilt what had been a nice day. I was embarassed that our friends first visit to the Peak had been marred by such unpleasant staff.
We have been to Hobb's previously but will not visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A great place for a pit stop”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been to the area over the winter a few times, but the tearoom was always closed. Now it is summer! and so we had to give it a try. Great coffee, wonderful scones and fantastic scenery, what more could you want.

Place very clean, friendly staff and a craft shop at the back with some lovely things, not the usual stuff everyone has.

Have already arranged out next trip up to the area, and another pit stop will be happening.

PS our New Zealand friend with us loved it too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mabel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
652 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 863 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I turned off the Monsal Trail after the Tunnel at the Monsal Viaduct and took the steep uphill trail for the Cafe. It is also accessible by road.

The building was erected during construction of the Derby to Manchester railway in the 1850s and was used as a bunkhouse for the navvies and as an office for the paymaster. It opened as a tearoom in the 1930s.

Pros:
-Short stay (max 1 hour) and long stay car parks available adjacent to premises
-Free WiFi (see staff for password)
-Shoe covers for muddy boots
-Clean and well-maintained premises.
-Spacious interior, so the tables aren't on top of one another.
-Numerous friendly & efficient uniformed staff.
-Food includes sandwiches, soup and cakes. Drinks include coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cold drinks. I had a latte (£2.30) and a scone (£2.90). Food & drink arrived in 5 minutes of ordering.
-Specials board.
-Multiple copies of the Peak Advertiser newspaper available to read.
-Local attraction leaflets.
-Wood laminate floor section and hard tiled floor section.
-Wooden tables and chairs.
-Some outside seating available in front of premises.
-Great views onto the valley below.
-Unisex toilet
-Attached shop selling international crafts.
-Two love birds in a cage!

Cons:
-Food and drink a little more expensive than nearby Bakewell.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the best tea shop in Derbyshire?”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

As regular walkers around Derbyshire, we often make detours to this tea shop and craft shop. It serves the nicest caramel latees and hot chocolates this side of Italy and has the best view in Derbyshire. The welcome we get is lovely - as soon as I spoke today, the owner said that mine was a voice he thought he recognised and that it was lovely to see us once again (even though he doesn't know us by name!) Well worth either a drive up to from Bakewell or a walk up from the nearby Monsal Trail. The value for money is also amazing - The Derbyshire Cream Tea for two is well worth the money. Less than £10 for two light, warm scones, jam, clotted cream or butter and a pot of tea which gives 6 cups! Plenty to replenish those stomachs after a walk up from the valley. A superb tea shop - give it a try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDerbyshireTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobb's Cafe also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hobb's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing