We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place for a cream tea!!”
Review of Hobb's Cafe

Hobb's Cafe
Ranked #34 of 91 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe and craft centre with stunning views over Monsal Dale.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Cannot believe the bad comments about this cafe! My fiance and I visit this cafe whenever we have a spare afternoon. Lovely pot of tea and the best scones I have ever had. We are always welcomed in by the very pleasant owner to sit infront of the real fire. Actually he couldnt be nicer, very friendly, very polite, and always has a spare ice cream cone to give to my dog!! ( dogs allowed in the cafe- brilliant! ) ignore the negative comments, this cafe is well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Kind words. Thanks for taking the trouble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 183 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

i visit this tea room/craft shop on a regular basis, its nice not to be cluttered with push chairs and screaming out of control unruly kids. Well behaved dogs are wellcome.
As for the food, you will not get a better bacon sandwich its well presented and very tasty.
The owner and staff are more than wellcoming and always have time to chat.
Its a wonderfull place but please keep those parambulators in the car park and the kids on a leash.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kevin w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We'll try and keep it up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Went in here recently with some relatives who were on holiday - I have never encountered such hostility to pensioners and pushchairs. We were spending £60 between the 5 of us but we were told we were not welcome as we were taking up too much room.We objected to his nasty manner and he just became more abusive. We asked for a refund and left. It completely spoilt our day and left us feeling very upset and also mystified - why would someone with such a bad attitude want to run a cafe?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Aggressive and rather nasty ? Well, I suppose that sums up my response too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Please do not eat here if you have children. The Manager is incredibly rude and aggressive and obviously does not want customers with little ones - even if they are very well behaved!Stay clear!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
5  Thank Boardtreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

And as they left, the words "we'll get you on the internet" passed from her lips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We always stop here for refreshments when we are walking around Monsal Head at weekends. Pricey but friendly, very clean and good food and drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tea4three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobb's Cafe also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hobb's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing