We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, lovely host”
Review of River Walk B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Walk B&B
Ranked #23 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This B&B is in a fantastic location, just minutes walk from the village centre and situated right by the river, very picturesque.
Jean was very welcoming without being overbearing and the breakfast was delicious and had a wide menu selection to choose from.
The double en-suite from was great - overlooking the river. The room was everything you'd expect from an English village B&B; quaint, comfy and with a good selection of hot drinks. Everything was clean, the room was warm and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: The double en-suite has a lovely view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanieC779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank-you so much for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed the view of the river and hope you will come and stay with us again when you visit Bakewell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had a fantastic stay in the double en-suite room. Really comfy bed, good shower and all you could ever need in the room, including a good selection of quality hot drinks, not the usual 2 cheap teabags! Was very clean and Jean the owner is so friendly and welcoming with great service and a yummy breakfast to start the day.

Great location just by the river as described, enjoyed feeding the ducks and just a short walk into Bakewell town centre to get your tarts and puddings, so can leave the car at the B&B, no need to worry about parking. Bakewell is a lovely place and near to lots of great places to visit, so a great base to have a break.

Looking forward to going back and would definitely recommend to everyone!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

So sorry I am late responding to your review it must be the one that got away. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Bakewell and the ducks are doing fine quite a few ducklings as you can imagine. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Jean deservedly gets many return visits to her B & B situated in a lovely and convenient position close to Bakewell town centre - I am one of them. One has to accept that this is not a 5* hotel but just a working family's cottage with the size of rooms which that would indicate. Yes, the bed I was in was soft when I like firmer, but one cannot expect the mattresses to be changed to cover every taste. I was physically active each day and slept well. As an aside, Riverwalk is ideally situated for most cyclists' needs as well as the usual walking fraternity. The adequate parking is a bonus and when they are not too busy, visitor's cars are allowed to stay a while on the leaving day which allows guests to enjoy an extended stay in the locallity.

Well done, Jean. I will return when family matters allow.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabreman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Sorry I am late responding to your review it must have slipped through net ! Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope things are O.K. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A group of five friends (2 couples and one single) stayed for one night to visit the Hartington Cookery School in Bakewell . Our choice of accommodation was limited as we wanted three rooms near the centre of town. As people who use B&B accommodation a great deal, we know what we like.
The location is great opposite the river with good road and walking access to the town centre. We were greeted by the owner at the front door in a friendly manner and shown to our respective rooms
The B&B has no separate sitting area for guests so we had to gather to one bedroom to discuss anything which was rather crowded!
Our well heated, ground floor was rather small with a handbasin in the room and shower and toilet in a very small, unheated en suite area but everywhere was very clean. Toiletries were all supplied. The bed was comfortable but we felt the furnishings looked a little old fashioned.
Breakfast was varied and well cooked with extra toast etc supplied on request.
We found this B&B fine for the one night we required but did not feel it would meet our needs for a longer stay. From comments made by our friends, they agreed with this.
Would recommend Hardwick Hall, the Bakewell Farmers Market and Hartingtons Cookery School (fantastic - try one of the gourmet evenings) whilst in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJSNetwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to make the points in your review. I am sorry you were not completely satisfied with my little bed and breakfast. We do not advertise a residents lounge on our website but you could have had our lounge if you had given prior notice I know it is difficult when a party of 5 stay together. After 14 years of running my bed and breakfast I do get many repeat customers who are very happy with the service I provide most staying longer than 1 night. Many customers find it a bonus to have the ground floor room with no stairs to climb and it being very quiet. Each year we do try to upgrade decor and furnishings and always buy good quality beds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Went back for another weekend in Bakewell at the start of October and wasn't disappointed. The room was as good as ever and Jean is still the perfect host, friendly, helpful and always supplies a superb breakfast to start the day.

Looking forward to going back again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank-you for your review the groundfloor room is very quiet I agree.It is so nice when people come back to stay with us it makes us feel we are doing something right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were in need of a few days peace and quiet and that's exactly what we got.

The b&b is in a lovely location. Just a short walk to Bakewell town centre and just a short drive to many other beautiful places worth visiting.

We stayed in the downstairs room. Very clean with a lovely hot shower.

Plenty of choice for breakfast....Juice, fruit, cereals, yogurt, toast, and a lovely cooked breakfast washed down with hot tea or coffee.

Jean and her husband made us feel very welcome in their home and if we're ever visiting the area again would certainly check for vacancies.

Geoff & June, Bedfordshire

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homebuddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank-you for your review it was lovely to meet you both so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the ground floor room everyone remarks on the shower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I took my wife for a 50th birthday treat I had been in contact with Jean for weeks as I wanted flowers when I arrived for my wife it was not too much trouble for jean perfect little B&B great location next to the river home from home wonderful breakfast clean room overlooking garden and river,Jean was a very nice host nothing too much trouble would recommend with drop of a hat, wonderful walk into bakewell along the river .When we arrived flowers I had ordered was in room and also a card and chocolates from jean nice touch.Thank you jean we will visit again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1teabag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacka088, Owner at River Walk B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank-you so much for your kind review it was a pleasure to help make the 50th birthday special with the flowers I am so glad you enjoyed the week-end & hope to see you again soon when you can escape over the border back into Derbyshire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
2.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.4 mi away
Avenue House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#4 of 44 in Bakewell
409 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Walk B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Walk B&B

Address: 3 New Lumford, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing