We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire
Ranked #7 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated on the Monsal trail near Bakewell. Serving freshly prepared Breakfast, Lunch and Afternoon Tea using local produce. Open evenings during the spring and summer with fresh, stone baked pizzas. Ample parking, disabled access. Counter service. Bookshop, Gift Shop and Cycle Hire on site. Cycle Hire open 9-5, 7 days a week all year round
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect place for lunch or after non tea, or soon an evening meal. Great good made from good ingredients, friendly staff and good bottled local Peak Ales and Thornbridge beers make it perfect to walk or cycle to. A large outdoor area if the weather is good, a covered outdoor area if less good (or you have dogs) and a nice inside. Friendly staff add to the mixture.

Helpful?
1 Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    204
    67
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place...especially as it does not allow dogs in the cafe”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Visited a few times now so was amused to read the rants of a dog owner below. The food and ambience are excellent; the last thing we need is for dogs to be mooching around whilst customers are eating. To compare children (detrimentally) with dogs says it all really! Most dog owners are far more reasonable, and understand the difference between an animal and a human being & know which should have priority.
One negative about the cafe is that the coffee is not quite up to scratch...it would be brilliant if they could install a proper system similar to those at coffee houses; great coffee means big business these days!
Otherwise this place is perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EvolvingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank's for the moral support regarding dogs. We love Dogs - just not in the Cafe.
As for our coffee - we do use a bean to cup machine. But it is a very good quality machine using a lovely bean. We feel that maintaining consistency is key and that a modern, well maintained, top-of-the-range bean to cup coffee is better than a badly made coffee from a traditional Barista machine.
This would happen, we sell a lot of coffee, and training all the part-time staff to make it properly, or having a couple of well trained Baristas always on hand on a machine is just not feasible for us as we get soooo busy and have so many staff.
Not to mention all the whooshing and banging of a traditional machine in our echo-prone Victorian railway station.
We understand that true coffee connoisseurs don't rate the bean-to-cup but feel it is a necessary compromise in one area to help make the whole business and customer experience better.
We appreciate the well considered, constructive criticism though - so many people come on Tripadvisor for a rant and a dig. All the best, hope we see you again soon.
And you never know, one day we might reach the elusive perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lunch better than breakfast. Come early to get bikes.”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We first came here on a busy Saturday lunchtime, and found to our disappointment that there were no more bikes left to hire. We then returned 2 days later much earlier in the day and had no problem getting what we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful. On both days we ate in the cafe. The breakfast was a bit ordinary (standard slightly greasy English breakfast with no choice of eggs and rather bitter coffee) but the lunch was much better. My daughters loved their burgers and I had an excellent bean casserole.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cycle parking”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having called in at Hassop when cycling the monsal trail i have to say the set up is impressive, a large indoor cafe with plenty of outside seating and a good cycle hire business, the fare in the cafe looked good and the place was packed out, the only thing i found a bit odd was the lack of cycle stands where you could safely lock up your cycle, considering the place is frequebted by many cyclists i managed to find a small space against a wooden fence to secure my cycle, not really ideal, a cycle park area is all that this place needs to be the ultimate mid cycle stop over. Having said that the weather was nice and i enjoyed the stay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bellevueace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review & thank you so much for your positive comments.
You are absolutely right about the bike racks, and we are looking into it. We do have a rack for parking bikes in outside the cycle hire, but it is fronted by a sign of ours & only houses 6 bikes,and is not very obvious. We underestimated the amount of people visiting who would bring their own bikes, since the Monsal Trail Tunnels opened this has increased.
Many people prop or lock their bikes against the post and rail fencing which is ok on quieter days, but for the serious bike owners we realise they need sturdy provision & security.
We are definitely looking into it (do be assured though we have CCTV) and hopefully when you visit again we'll have the extended bike parking in place. We are opening in the evenings this summer from 23rd May until September, cycle & sample the menu.
Thanks once again for your fair review of our café , we are a family run solo business & appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place - unless you're a dog owner”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hassop Station Cafe is superbly located for walking the Monsal Trail, where we saw countless dog walkers making use of the open space.
The Cafe itself is very clean, with pleasant staff, offering quite a varied choice of top quality food. The prices however, are VERY expensive (burger and chips about £8, 330ml soft drink £1.45). The quality of the food was very good, but I doubt it was worth £8.
My main gripe is the treatment of dog walkers - they are looked upon like second class citizens. The cafe has a large outdoor (and undercover) eating area which is the only area dog owners are allowed. Although the cover is great for keeping the rain off, the open sides do nothing to protect diners (or their food) from the cold air.
When I asked why dogs weren't allowed inside the main cafe, the reply was 'health and safety'. This is nothing short of utter rubbish. The law allows dogs into eating places, so long as they are not in the food preparation area (which, at Hassop, wouldn't be a problem). There is nothing unhealthy about dogs being in the same room as where food is served, and there is nothing unsafe either. I would contest allowing unruly children into such places as they can be both unhealthy and unsafe, but obviously this would be classed as discrimination!
I would recommend the cafe completely, bar the attitude to dog owners - if you have a dog with you, and it's anything but warm outside, then I suggest you find a dog friendly pub at which to dine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello again John, we have already replied to your post listed on 26/03/14, but it seems it's been deleted ( was it the naughty word?!), we also got your email signed by your dog Jess! Yes you are correct we do not allow dogs( except guide dogs) inside the cafe building itself . Dogs are allowed in the picnic table area & on the sun terrace & under the canopy where there are dog tethers, next to the gift shop door & 4 near cycle hire on the wall.There are dog bowls at these points also. We sell dog clean up bags( free to any owners in desperate need!) ,dog ball throwers, portable dog bowls & tethers & a plethora of doggy themed gift items, best selling item " I love ny dog " sign 99p!we have a lot of dog owning customers many of whom are regulars who tether the dog & eat inside by the window or who eat in our 3 outdoor seating areas. You are correct that it is because of health & safety yes, by law I have a duty to maintain good health & hygiene practice. You state that it's " utter rubbish" ( glad you edited the naughty word!), I beg to differ. I am very proud of our 5 star food hygiene rating, & the staff who maintain those standards in a very busy establishment.I have 3 food prep areas here , you say it wouldn't be a problem to keep dogs out of them if we did allow dogs, I disagree entirely. On a busy day you could have upwards of 40 dogs here, fast moving waitresses carrying hot food, customers carrying hot drinks, & all the lovely kids people bring here. It simply wouldn't do.Dogs moult, the hair contamination would be an enormous issue, dogs are also pack animals who can react in all manner of ways to other dogs, as I have witnessed many times here. I could go on & on .... I don't think we treat dog owners as second class citizens at all, everyone knows that we simply can't have them inside for obvious reasons. As for your comments on children, I'm guessing you're not a big fan, your opinion. Same as the pricing, if you think it's expensive that's your opinion, the ingredients are local & good quality, & we want to produce cracking grub, burgers from £7.50 served on brioche using finest local beef ( cows just down the road!) add bacon, Stilton or Swiss & mushrooms, yum.Our burgers are the most expensive item we have on the menu.We try very hard to please all customers, we have free water for humans & dogs, we fix punctures for free, we let everyone use the loo, regardless of customer status . I like to think we're friendly, and even though you've contacted us 3 times now, I hope you are now clear on my position on dogs in my cafe. Hopefully there will be no need for a third post & re edit eh?! All the best to you & Jess the dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing