We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire
Ranked #7 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated on the Monsal trail near Bakewell. Serving freshly prepared Breakfast, Lunch and Afternoon Tea using local produce. Open evenings during the summer with fresh, stone baked pizzas. Ample parking, disabled access. Counter service. Bookshop, Gift Shop and Cycle Hire on site. Cycle Hire open 9-5, 7 days a week all year round
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having visited the open gardens at nearby Thornbridge Hall stopped for lunch on the way home. We ordered 2 x cheeseburgers which took less time than advised. Beautifully presented with a healthy portion of delicious skinny fries. The burger was fabulous with lovely seasoning and a great meat (not fat) taste. Good supply of tea for 2 in a large pot.

A delicious looking selection of cakes - but we were too stuffed to even consider!

The queue to order was quite long and took a while but overall the service is great. Have visited many times, but never previously written a review.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Galtraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for your endorsement that our Burgers are fantastic .I wish I could have them every day......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    196
    66
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent tea shop.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This proved to be a very pleasant stop on the Monsal Trail: there were, despite it being incredibly busy, plenty of tables and they didn't seem to run out of food at all! The queue was rather long and slow and we had finished tea before food arrived but this just demonstrates the popularity of the place - the staff were working very, very hard to get everything out to people. Finding refreshments whilst cycling is always important and this seemed the best facility on the trail. My husband's smoked salmon quiche was superb and my seafood platter was fine - I recommend the quiche though! I would definitely use this place again but would try to get here earlier or later - 1.00 was obviously prime lunch time! They seemed to have a lot of children's meals available and the playhouses were clearly popular so a good place for families too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nessie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not just a cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was going to find a pub after cycling the Monsal trail with my family but the kids (7 and 2 years) were so taken with the play houses provided we decided to eat here instead and I'm glad we did. The place doesn't feel crowded even when its full. You can choose to eat inside or outside or in an open conservatory.The food was nothing elaborate but everything was of good quality, well presented. The kids chose ham sandwiches, really simple but the ham was very nice. My meal included a pork pie which was one of the best I've had. The chips were excellent. And they serve bottled beers too.
Total bill for one course each and two bottles of beer £30.
Don't forget that its in a nice spot and there's a couple of shops to browse around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We tried this café as we had been geocaching in Bakewell and have cycled/walked past it many times. It was very busy even during mid week which was a hopeful sign although the downside of that is that the queue to order food was quite long. However, the food choice is good and the food that we had was reasonable. It was nothing special and unfortunately not as good as we have had in our usual café in Bakewell. So overall not bad but not great either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi. We appreciate your feedback, however we always feel the need to respond to an 'average; review. We don't think we are 'Nothing special' we reckon we serve the best café food in the Bakewell area, no doubt......our customers know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Scenic cycling followed by a great burger and coffee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited both the cycle shop and the coffee shop, both of which were excellent in their own way. We parked in the free short stay car park specifically cordoned off for customers, and easily found a space at 9.30 am. We hadn't pre-booked bikes, however as we arrived early this wasn't a problem. However 2.5 hours later there was a queue and people were waiting! We were sorted out immediately by 2 young lads, they helped set up our bikes ( seat height etc) and sorted helmets out. They were friendly and efficient. The bikes were well maintained and easy to ride - there were tandems and trailer bikes but can imagine these get rented quickly.
The trail is easy to follow, with signboards along the way giving a history of the area. The tunnels are actually quite exciting to pedal through and give a completely different perspective. As somebody who lives outside the UK the route was picturesque and a joy to cycle. It was tougher than I thought it would be as it is all uphill ( albeit a small steady gradient), but don't let that put you off. It's all downhill on the way back! We did it in 2 hours going at a steady pace.
On returning we went to the coffee shop and sat outside at the back. It was very busy so the burgers ordered took slightly longer than our starving son would have liked - however when they arrived they were delicious. The soup and coffee were also very good.

A great day out and one I would do again. Suggest an early start as it was lovely cycling on our own to begin with. Got busier nearer to lunchtime as it was the summer holidays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing