We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fifitrixi...
Castle Bytham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay this year at Knoll Cottage, having had it for a week in April.

As we were staying over the Christmas week it had been tastefully decorated for Christmas which was lovely and homely and made us feel all the more festive.

The cottage is on a busy road and unloading the car with luggage etc can be an issue as it is up a hill just on a bend, good idea to take an emergency triangle with you if you have one and put it about 20 yards down from your car as it certainly slows the traffic and makes them aware that your are there. There is enough room to bump up on the footpath too so you are not entirely on the road.

The cottage is very well equipped with all manner of cooking utensils and with lovely matching crockery that is in good condition, not chipped or cracked. It is also very warm and whilst there is a wood burning stove we didn't need to use it as we were always more than warm enough.

There is a small courtyard, alas we couldn't get our dogs to go out there and do anything so that was a big issue for us, as there is nowhere nearby to take them for the first and last ablutions of the day.

There is a large bathroom with a good showers and jacuzzi bath and the two bedrooms are good sizes and really tastefully decorated.

It is a 5 minute walk into the town centre, if you are in anyway physically challenged, walking back up to the cottage may be prove challenging as it is up a hill.

With regards to parking, you do get given a permit and parking is available at the back of the church, best way to get to it is go past the cottage, on your left, turn in Yeld Road about 100 yards up from there and as you head back towards the cottage take the left hand slope which is the road at the back of the church, up there is parking for permit holders.

One thing it could do with is the front door having a lick of paint as it does look a little tired and could give a poor first impression and certainly isn't the case once inside.

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Distance from town centre
Liked least: That our dogs would not use the courtyard, they like a bit of grass, our problem!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewed March 2, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Date of stay: November 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Granville Ohio
Reviewed August 30, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness of the property
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Catherine...
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice cottage but surprisingly busy location”
Reviewed August 23, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We recently booked Knoll cottage for a week over my husband's Birthday and our 10th wedding anniversary.
Due to this double celebration, we did a lot of research into booking somewhere that sounded very special in an area that sounded perfect for walks with our 2 dogs. Upon arrival in Bakewell it took us quite a while to locate the cottage, which is situated on a busy road and offers no safe place to unload. The parking really is an issue, it was very limited and is located up a steep hill about 5 mins walk from the cottage. The space is not guaranteed and Bakewell gets very busy!
Once we got into the cottage, we were very impressed by the beautiful bathroom, well equipped kitchen and comfy double bedroom. The front downstairs room are quite gloomy and the TV currently only has 3 channels.
It is a nice cottage, however we felt the advertising photos were a little misleading as the road is busy and it is overlooked.

Date of stay: August 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom
Liked least: Parking & road location
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Date of stay: June 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ely Cambridgeshire
Reviewed May 6, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Date of stay: March 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stoke-on-trent
Reviewed January 10, 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing