We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Business trip”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SarahandC...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, stunning views and beautifully secluded - a proper getaway holiday!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at this cottage in late July/August 2013 for a week. When we drove up the drive to the cottage we were a little worried as it was a long, bumpy track (as warned) although no match for my Quashqai. It was more nerve-racking for my brother-in-law in his low-suspension Honda Civic full of people and holiday packing. Still, we made it, with no harm to the vehicles and we were blown away by the location of the cottage right on top of the world! It had the most amazing views for miles in every direction. We could only stand and stare for the first half hour. The cottage itself was also beautiful. Low ceilings so beware if you are a tall family like ours! the kitchen had granite surfaces and was full of every utensil, pot, plate, cups and cutlery that you could possibly need. The hob was amazing - I want one now! The rooms were perfectly appointed. My 9 month old baby hasn't slept better than when she was staying here! It was nice to have a "snug" where the children played and a proper living room where the adults relaxed. The bathrooms were spotless and beautiful. The standalone bath made bathtime a lot of fun for the children and rather pleasant for me after a long horse ride at Ladybooth stables near Hope Valley. Other activities we enjoyed was bike riding the Monsal Trail - the start of which in the Wye Valley was only a 5 min drive up the main road from the cottage. We also went to Bakewell and enjoyed the famed Bakewell pudding. As well as walking the immediate surrounds (many walks straight from the cottage which was amazing!) we also ventured half an hour south to Dove Dale - so pretty! We managed to walk to a couple of pubs from the cottage - one down in Miller's Dale and the other on the A6 (The Waterloo). If you have babies, I recommend packing a sling/baby carrier not a buggy as the unmade roads don't work with buggies!
This was one of the nicest holidays I've had in a long while - and this is mostly due to the stunning location of the cottage and how beautiful it was staying there. Everyone kept congratulating me on finding it, but I had no idea how lovely it was until we say it in person. The furnishings have been updated from the ones I can see in the photos in Trip Advisor. It looks nicer and they have a massive TV which connects to our laptop or plug a USB directly in which made my nerdy husband very happy.
In summary, I highly recommend this cottage to any other families wanting to get away from it all. We will have to go again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, seclusion, nice furnishings, kitchen
Liked least: low ceilings
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xbackpack...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great views - perfect for group gatherings”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed at Lees Farm over the May Bank holiday as part of a large group of friends. The property is very isolated, with beautiful views down the valley. There is a pub nearby although it is a very steep walk and might not be advisable in the dark! The house itself is well equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday, (except for a barbecue which might come in handy).

The property is ideal for families with kids or big groups as it has a huge garden and is surrounded by fields and open space to play in. Contrary to earlier reviews, wifi has been installed at the property and you get a relatively good signal throughout the house.

The surrounding area is beautiful - we hired bikes from Bakewell to cycle the Monsal trail, went kayaking, go carting and of course there are lots of walks you can do from right outside the house itself.

Our cars did struggle getting up and down the track to the property, but unless you have a small sports car or low suspension vehicle then it's certainly not that bad. We even ordered an online supermarket delivery which found the house and delivered perfectly on time.

All in all I would definitely recommend this property for groups or big families!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abio
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Lees Farm for Easter, but arrived following heavy snow the previous week. The owner had been in touch with concerns that the farm track, 3/4mile, was impassable. He managed to organise for a snow plough, but the drive was still banked up with 5-8ft drifts. After a non-too-humourous couple of hours stuck on the track, we eventually reached the house. It is totally isolated, surrounded by beautiful rolling countryside and ideal for keen walkers. The house has been tastefully furnished and has modern, very well equipped, kitchen and bathrooms. The two main bedrooms have comfortable king size beds and offer dual aspect views accross the countryside. The groundfloor bedroom has comfortable bunk beds and a single bed, plus built in wardrobe, but has no drawers or shelving, so with three teenagers, this soon became very messy and hard to keep organised. This room, along with the third first floor room, only have a velux window. The third first floor room was very disapointing. It offers a single bed+trundle, that really is inadaquate for two adults. There is no room to move around the beds, meaning climbing over whoever is on the trundle, which is also most uncomfortable! I would say that this house only comfortably accomodates 8 people, including children. There is also only seating at the dining table for 8, meaning every meal was compromised.
There are some very creaky and unstable floorboards on the first floor, that would disturb even the heaviest sleeper, should anyone move around during the night.
Although the snow caused problems at the begining of our stay, the local fields provided excelent sledging opportunities, providing hopurs of fun for both the adults and children alike.
The farm track is very high in the middle and could easily damage your car. Do not even attempt to tackle it in a low-bodied car.
The house is well placed for several local attractions and close to main routes to Sheffield/Chesterfield.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Trundle bed/room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judey-Jud...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, perfect for the dog”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

We loved our stay here. The house is cosy and inviting with everything you could need. The provision of a dog crate and a baby gate was brilliant. Just what we needed after the dog got his paws walked off.
The house sits up a gravel type road, its not horrific but if you have a low car take it nice and slow.
Far away enough to be lovely and peaceful, close enough to have amenities within a short distance. Perfect. So much so we are returning in a few weeks. Jasper can't wait.
Only thing I would change is there is no wifi access. Phone signal is very patchy.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewed February 21, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester
Reviewed January 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$137
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing