We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Ricci's

Ricci's
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Ricci's Fine Italian foods is a sit-in CAFE and also a take-away. We strive to serve the best authentic Italian foods, at a fair price, in pleasant surroundings. We pride ourselves on freshness, cleanliness and a friendly atmosphere. Our Italian coffee is rated as the best by MANY customers.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My fiance and I visited Ricci's on the 15th of April and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food there is wonderful and is definitely worth the money. The staff are very friendly and pleasant and seem genuinely pleased to have your custom. We had the 'top sandwich' which was probably the best sandwich we'd ever had. I know that I speak for the both of us when I say I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone. Will be going again when we're next in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Roanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Hi Roanna,
Thanks for the lovely review, and I know JUST where you're coming from with the T.O.P. sandwich - I was 'addicted' to them myself for a few weeks after we invented it!
Sue & I always ARE genuinely pleased to have yours, and any other, custom - it's why we do what we do :-)
Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 551 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Top quality food been going for a while now and never been disappointed. Spoilt for choice what to try next but just work your way down the menu. Tasty food that makes you want to keep going back for more. Staff always friendly and service excellent. A definite must try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review, Angela. Please don't hesitate to ask if you want any advice on what to try next - there's PLENTY to go at :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Ricci's is one of those places that you just want to keep going back to. The food is always freshly prepared, full of flavour; comfort food at its best. Ricci's take simple dishes and add to these wonderful ingredients to enhance the flavours. There is always a warm welcome when you arrive, and a willingness to find you a table when things are busy. This is a cosy and friendly place to eat, helps to make a great day out in Bakewell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Apifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Popped in for lunch pasta was really good but the service was a little haphazard no one seemed to be in charge, also there was a smell of frying fat from the open kitchen and a pizza oven encroaches into the seating area at the back. Place seems to have an identity crisis too, is it a cafe, a restaurant a wine bar or a snack bar?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bryno1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Firstly' bryno', I'm glad you enjoyed the pasta.
Haphazard service?? Sue and I (co-owners) run front of house, and have been doing for over five years. There is nothing haphazard in any way. No one person is 'in charge' - we work as a good team to try to ensure every customer gets what they want, when they want it.
Yes - smells come from the OPEN kitchen - it's like this so you can SEE us and the chef working, and see how everything is freshly made. Most people say the smells are what brought them in to the cafe in the first place - really strange that in 140 reviews, you are the first one to complain? Oh, the 'fat' you smelt would be best Italian olive oil, but you must have a good nose - we have a ten inch extraction tube connected to a large hood to take smells outside.
To say the oven 'encroaches' into the seating area is a downright lie. Anyone can look on our website (or come in the cafe) and see the oven is WHOLLY contained in the kitchen, with room enough for staff to walk between it and the counter.
Identity crisis, you say???? I've just walked outside the cafe, and in BIG letters, it says 'ITALIAN CAFE' - no crisis there? (Oh, and in case there was - just to be sure, it says it a FURTHER THREE times - cafe, cafe, cafe!
This sort of 'review' always makes me suspicious - did you come for the experience, or just to pick and moan? I think anyone reading your 'review' will make up their own mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

WOW, what a place! Excellent food, excellent service, very friendly and worth every penny. My son's 1st stop when he is on leave from the Army. With very jealous relatives when we go without them :) This is a definite MUST if you are anywhere close! You won't be disappointed! See you again very soon with those that couldn't be there today!! DELICIOUS

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesjsin, Owner at Ricci's, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks for this review Emma, we still think it was cruel to ring your hubby and tease him about where you were, knowing he'd be jealous!
Bring him with you next time. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricci's also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Ricci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing