We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delicious meal.”

The Ashford Arms Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a delicious meal.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were meeting friends and decided we would try the Ashford Arms. We were so glad we did as the food was absolutely delicious. 3 of us had the roast of the day which was lamb and it was really tasty. There was plenty, in fact, we couldn't managed to eat it all. The lamb was tender and tasty and we had roast potatoes, mash, parsnips, carrots and broccoli with stuffing and gravy. The fourth person had the lambs liver with Yorkshire pudding and veg. At only £7.95 each it was amazing value. What a shame it is so far away and we can't go every week. Will certainly return when in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxsmtxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    135
    60
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food in a perfect setting”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We visited the Ashford Arms yesterday for the first time, and had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Food was lovely and seemed home-cooked and fresh, friendly staff, prompt service, good pint (should think so for £3.65!). We arrived at 6pm (opening time) and found a table no problem, but the restaurant filled up pretty quickly after that, so booking advised.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhatsWithCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It was OK but probably wouldn't return”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food was pretty average really and we probably wouldn't return. It is quite a big place and it was very busy to start with. We didn't like our table, it was near a cutlery station, and we asked to move and the staff were very accommodating with our request, however they weren't as attentive taking our order or serving our meals and we wondered if it was because we had asked to move.

We found that the atmosphere quickly disappeared once the diners had finished. We wanted to have a few more drinks in the bar afterwards and found that there was just us and two other couples - on a Friday night!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunandmoon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, enjoyable food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night and although we hadn't booked, we managed to get a table in the bar. We both had the duck. The sauce was lovely but the duck was a little overcooked, and not served pink as it should be. I loved the battered broccoli that came with it. Overall it was a good meal but not the best duck I have ever tasted due to it being overcooked for my liking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Traditional english pub serving traditional english dishes in wonderful surroundings, reasonably priced too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ashford Arms Restaurant also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Ashford Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing