We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, enjoyable food”

The Ashford Arms Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, enjoyable food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night and although we hadn't booked, we managed to get a table in the bar. We both had the duck. The sauce was lovely but the duck was a little overcooked, and not served pink as it should be. I loved the battered broccoli that came with it. Overall it was a good meal but not the best duck I have ever tasted due to it being overcooked for my liking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    135
    59
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Traditional english pub serving traditional english dishes in wonderful surroundings, reasonably priced too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“night to remember”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we booked on spec for our wedding anniversary , very polite and courteous showed us to our table and asked if it was allright . gave us plenty of time to look through the menu , I had the mixed grill and my wife had the duck (take a doggy bag]. the food and service was excellient hence we went for sunday lunch ,will defenetly go again when in the area. was in bakewell for the weekend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Straight from the 80's”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having read all the good reviews we thought we would give it a go. I am not going to slate the place but felt i needed to write a brief review, in short very average food, big portions, personally i didnt find it value for money either but we did order two 'specials'. Would i go back, no, would i recommend nope, sorry but there are far better establishments such as The Bulls Head up the road

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iain4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mass catering, but not a bad thing”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went on a monday lunchtime. It's a grey sea of customers, all that tells me it's good value for money and you get British food. I was right. We had sliced lamb "sizzling" - interestingly, in the toilets, on the wall, was a review from a local magazine and the reviewer highlighted how wonderful it was to have a sizzling dish; like that is important..... - ours didn't sizzle....so what.
I would bet that the meat was brought in pre sliced? The veg was ok, the stuffing ball was lovely, and the gravy was nice too. I was feeling unwell but the meal really perked me up.
Inside, the experience is slick from the staff and they are obviously used to large numbers of people. Two mains, a pint of lemonade, and a half a lime and soda were less than £16.
I wouldn't go here to impress people or for gastronomic excellence, but for a cheap pub meal, I've had much, much, worse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoreInHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ashford Arms Restaurant also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Ashford Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing