We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal ”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Quick Bites in Bakewell
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a family meal while on holiday. There were 8 of us, but all our food came together, and when we had a problem with one of the steaks, they offered to recook one without us having to make a fuss. I would highly recommend the Sirloin steak.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Marlin666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintmaz, General Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting us and pleased you enjoyed your food we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 451 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2019

Good food and wine very reasonably priced. Service excellent, staff friendly and beer very good too. Definitely a place to go to again.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintmaz, General Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Came for lunch on a not-so-busy afternoon, found the menu was very well-priced and had a great variety of lots of good options

The tomato soup didn’t come with croutons or toasted bread, as advertised, however I didn’t mind as the soup itself was absolutely gorgeous. So were the haloumi fries, which came in a very good portion size

The lady behind the bar was helpful enough, whilst the gent serving us was really nice

All in all, really good proper pub dining

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank joseph289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintmaz, General Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are really pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

We dropped in for lunch, on a not too busy afternoon- the lady behind the bar was too keen to chat to the locals to engage in conversation with me whilst I placed our order, which I found rather rude. My Ploughmans lunch was disappointing, soggy pie pastry, lettuce which had seen better days and a lacklustre pickle/chutney. The bread,cheese & pickled onion were lovely though.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank mutleee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintmaz, General Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

We are sorry regarding your recent visit could you please contact the manager regarding this on 01629812103

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Nice choice of beers and gins. Barman was polite and helpful. Menu looks okay. Full of pub classics.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flintmaz, General Manager at The Castle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing