We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miracle last minute find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peak District Holiday Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peak District Holiday Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Miracle last minute find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We needed to find somewhere last minute and what a find! We stayed in the Hayloft in October for 3 nights and were blessed with great weather. Fantastic accommodation finished to a high standard, incredibly clean all in a beautiful location. Our 2 children also loved the property and location which is no mean feat for 12 and 6 year olds!
There was no issue with taking our dog, Roxi, who loved having the free run of the garden and the local fields. We would highly recommend the hayloft to anybody.

We could walk straight from the house across fields when we needed to give Roxi a quick walk and also had days out to various spots for nice walks along both river and moor.

There are supermarkets in most of the local towns which was handy as we preferred to cook in rather than venture out to the local pubs - but by the look of the comments in the guest book these are of a good standard.

We took the children to the skate park in Stoke on Trent as our children wanted to try the biggest park in England - this was great fun for them and we enjoyed watching some of the locals doing their scary tricks!

Overall it was a brilliant break and we will surely be back for a longer break in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetsqueaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent a week in the Byre last year and liked it so much we returned again this year. Nothing had changed apart from a TV upgrade which was a nice addition to an already top cottage and location. The children loved seeing the cows morning and night and were very excited when we said we were returning this year.
We have just booked a short break in the Hayloft this October so it will be interesting to see how that compares to the Byre. We have no doubt though that it is just as good and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangepeel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

In the Bakewell-Buxton-Ashbourne triangle that is the southern half of the Peak District, The Byre is ideally placed. Travel times are Buxton and Bakewell – no more than 20 minutes – and there is a series of lanes that mean that we didn’t use the A6 the whole time we were staying – the biggest road for a lot of our trips was the A515.

Its attributes include:
- The cottage itself is upside down – and with a late finish, you may well appreciate this (bedrooms downstairs, living rooms above)
- Very discrete – small windows (e.g. in the bathroom) opening onto farmland
- A well-appointed kitchen with plenty of storage space
- Comfortable beds
- Satellite Freeview (FreeSat) on a large screen HD TV
- DVD player
- Good mobile phone reception (T-Mobile, O2)

Our hosts were very helpful – and almost invisible for most of the time (although we knew that they were about). We were pleased at their provisions for recycling – everything including food waste. All in all, The Byre was as pleasant a break as any we have enjoyed elsewhere in the UK. Would we come back? Yes!

Tips for anyone thinking of staying – don’t wait about as the Peak District is busy through the autumn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N1geD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Booked late, so did not know what to expect. On arrival couldn't of wished for better. The cottage was upside down, with kitchen and lounge on first floor and bedrooms and bathrooms on ground floor. It certainly worked with the views from the lounge area was breath taking to say the least. Overall facilities in the cottage itself was of a very high standard. Location central to all the key attractions along with some excellent walks. Pubs serving good food were all within easy distance from the cottage, Cock & Pullett at Sheldon 2 miles, Church Arms at Charmalton 2 miles and Bulls Head at Monyash 2 miles. Overall we had an excellent time and would not hesitate in going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I visted The Hayloft with three friends and we had a super time.

It's quite remote, but within easy driving distance of some lovely places. I'd recommend Lyme Park, made famous as Pemberley in the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, Bakewell for its tarts, and Matlock Bath for an interesting ride in a cable car to reach the heady Heights of Abraham.

A big thank you to the owners Marian and Martin - the cottage was beautifully clean, it had everything you could possibly need and they couldn't do enough to ensure we had an enjoyable stay.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge West Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Wonderful location off the beaten track. A great place to unwind. Accommodation was home from home, everything was provided down to very small details-even clingfilm and dishcloths!
Very clean, well maintained, self catering house whcih we would certainly return to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We have stayed on a lot of cottages and so it is always hard when we go to a new one as we compare. The owner of this cottage was hugely accomodating when we booked and flexible when we wanted to extend our stay by one night at the last minute.
The cottage is in beautiful surroundings and the views (we stayed in The Hayloft) are just beautiful from every window, a great deal of thought has obviously gone into the design of the conversion. The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and warm, everything that you could want really.
We enjoyed watching the cows coming past the cottage every morning for milking, they even pause to have their photos taken! :-)
The cottage is a great place to explore the Peaks, with all the major places close by, Bakewell,Buxton, Chatsworth to name but a few. We bought food from the Chatsworth Farm Shop every day for dinner...the deli counter is fab!
All in all a fabulous place that I would thoroughly recommend to anyone, we certainly hope to return. All that and it is even dog friendly :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicRamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#11 of 46 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gardeners Cottage B&B
Gardeners Cottage B&B
#1 of 19 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 46 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bed and Breakfast One Castle Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak District Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak District Holiday Cottage

Property: Peak District Holiday Cottage
Address: Rockfield House, Flagg Lane | Flagg, Peak District National Park, Bakewell SK17 9QS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two, two-bedroomed holiday cottages appointed to a high standard with breathtaking views of the surrounding Peak District and with Freesat HD television & WiFi. Each cottage sleeps four in one double and one twin bedroom. Each cottage has been tastefully appointed in order to retain as much of the original character as possible whilst ensuring a warm cosy place in which to relax and unwind from the stresses of everyday life. Both cottages have a large lounge with log burner, exposed oak beams complimented by a bright decor. We also own and manage Jasmine Cottage in Winster and Cliffe Cottage in Castleton ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing