We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went to see what all the fuss was about”
Review of The Peacock

The Peacock
Ranked #10 of 88 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Went to see what all the fuss was about”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to see what all the fuss was about was met with excellent service and food. Unfortunately we weren't that hungry so we shared crab cakes and rabbit pie off the special board. We found it to be excellent value for money and will be back. Didn't realise they did b&b as well might have to try that as well .

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, Fuss - What Fuss, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
There is no fuss Alex B - well maybe there is fuss from the idiots who post pathetic reviews on Trip Advsor about nothing to do, but I refer to them as nothin' men, as they have nothing better to do.

On the whole though I think we please most of the people most of the time, and that's good enough for me, and the wingers just don't get it, but that's ok - it's fine, as we do our job at the Peacock and we do it well, and you will always be in good hands when you call for a drink, a dine or a drive, ref: Ray Dorset - How you're doing Ray, long time no see)- and if that constitutes a night out you will also be fine at the Peacock in Bakewell.

A friend of mine once asked me "why is the Peacock so Busy" my answer as always, is: '

Because it's the Peacock in Bakewell"

Bon Voyage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    323
    121
    66
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Called in for a light bar snack and loved the place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just called in to the Peacock on the way though Bakewell as I have afew friends here and thought I`d call into the Peacock for a snack as I haven`t been in for a while. Anyway I orderd a lovely ham salad and it was delicious if slightly over priced.

Anyway its been a lovely day today and this maded it nice to sit outside for half an hour too !

Well worth a try

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, Pay me my money down, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Jack, it's always a lovely day in Bakewell especially when the sun is shining, and even better having a pint and a ham salad in the beer garden at the Peacock.

Thanks for the post.....how much do I owe you - bit over priced Jack!

We deserve more than three stars for atmosphere and value if you're gonna get paid!

So......

Why is the Peacock so busy - Because it's the Peacock in Bakewell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mikey and mary”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visiting Bakewell for the day and called in at the Peacock for lunch. What a thoroughly enjoyable
experience. Great atmosphere, good beer, spotlessly clean, good service with a smile even though they were very busy and last, but definitely not least the food, which was exceptional.
Best Steak and Ale we have ever tasted, plenty of it and priced for the excellent quality. Will definitely call again when in the area. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, Mary & Mike, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Mike & Mary - that's the best review we've ever had - well nearly the best, but we thank you as you get it when at the Peacock in Bakewell.

'Why is the Peacock always busy?' - because.......it is the Peacock in Bakewell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, but bad service”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was a good place to eat with desent size portions and OK quality of food.
We had to ask for the table to be cleaned before we were served and there wasn't much willingness to do any more than bringing out the food.
The service could have been better. A smile and a more welcoming atmosphere could help this place a lot. It was the only thing that was lacking on such a beautiful sunny day.
Prices were quite high we thought.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank maryam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, When a decent is not a desent, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
These type of posts are put on Trip Advisor in my opinion - and let's put the record straight, if you come to Trip Advisor with an opinion maryam s, then is it not right that we can also have an opinion - so for you to come on here with a nasty vindictive streak after your comments of The Peacock was a good place to eat with decent size portions and OK quality of food - I'd love to see what you muster up if our food is only deemed OK - but to crucify us for stating the service could have been better on a red hot sunny day in Bakewell, when as per usual the Peacock was heaving, ram jam packed, I think is unnecessary.

We have in excess of forty outside tables, and if you had to ask for a table to be cleaned down, that is unfortunate, but we can often be over run with baying customers, and if you feel that is an issue, that is unfortunate, but the staff here are lovely hard working individuals and if the obligatory cheesy grin wasn't to your satisfaction, that's a shame - they would be doing their utmost best to deal with all types of situations, and for you to post a comment referring to the fact is, and this is only my opinion - a little on the skitty side.

Busy places are busy for a reason - you can work that one out, and you are at liberty to post what ever you feel, but sometimes it is a better person who can keep their counsel, as they understand - it is obvious you didn't or didn't want to understand!

As for the quote you felt the prices were quite high - again I feel coming from London, isn't that a case of the pot calling the kettle?

Oh, and by the way if you are going to post a review - check your spelling, as decent is not spelt desent. You see we can be skitty also, probably on the same level in the scheme of things!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely pub for a few ciders in the sunshine”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited Bakewell with a few friends after watching a triathlon down the road at Chatsworth House.

The Peacock has a nice sun trap patio which was great for a few drinks and a Bakewell Pudding! The staff were friendly and the menu looked very appetising, this is somewhere I'd go again next time I'm in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Clark_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, why why why because you're, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
couldn't agree more..........

Why is the Peacock so Busy - Because it's the Peacock in Bakewell!

Why is Chatsworth so Busy, because it's near the Peacock in Bakewell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing