We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Called in for a light bar snack and loved the place”
Review of The Peacock

The Peacock
Ranked #10 of 88 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Called in for a light bar snack and loved the place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just called in to the Peacock on the way though Bakewell as I have afew friends here and thought I`d call into the Peacock for a snack as I haven`t been in for a while. Anyway I orderd a lovely ham salad and it was delicious if slightly over priced.

Anyway its been a lovely day today and this maded it nice to sit outside for half an hour too !

Well worth a try

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jack k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, Pay me my money down, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Jack, it's always a lovely day in Bakewell especially when the sun is shining, and even better having a pint and a ham salad in the beer garden at the Peacock.

Thanks for the post.....how much do I owe you - bit over priced Jack!

We deserve more than three stars for atmosphere and value if you're gonna get paid!

So......

Why is the Peacock so busy - Because it's the Peacock in Bakewell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    323
    121
    66
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“mikey and mary”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visiting Bakewell for the day and called in at the Peacock for lunch. What a thoroughly enjoyable
experience. Great atmosphere, good beer, spotlessly clean, good service with a smile even though they were very busy and last, but definitely not least the food, which was exceptional.
Best Steak and Ale we have ever tasted, plenty of it and priced for the excellent quality. Will definitely call again when in the area. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, Mary & Mike, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Mike & Mary - that's the best review we've ever had - well nearly the best, but we thank you as you get it when at the Peacock in Bakewell.

'Why is the Peacock always busy?' - because.......it is the Peacock in Bakewell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good fresh food, but bad service”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was a good place to eat with desent size portions and OK quality of food.
We had to ask for the table to be cleaned before we were served and there wasn't much willingness to do any more than bringing out the food.
The service could have been better. A smile and a more welcoming atmosphere could help this place a lot. It was the only thing that was lacking on such a beautiful sunny day.
Prices were quite high we thought.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank maryam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, When a decent is not a desent, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
These type of posts are put on Trip Advisor in my opinion - and let's put the record straight, if you come to Trip Advisor with an opinion maryam s, then is it not right that we can also have an opinion - so for you to come on here with a nasty vindictive streak after your comments of The Peacock was a good place to eat with decent size portions and OK quality of food - I'd love to see what you muster up if our food is only deemed OK - but to crucify us for stating the service could have been better on a red hot sunny day in Bakewell, when as per usual the Peacock was heaving, ram jam packed, I think is unnecessary.

We have in excess of forty outside tables, and if you had to ask for a table to be cleaned down, that is unfortunate, but we can often be over run with baying customers, and if you feel that is an issue, that is unfortunate, but the staff here are lovely hard working individuals and if the obligatory cheesy grin wasn't to your satisfaction, that's a shame - they would be doing their utmost best to deal with all types of situations, and for you to post a comment referring to the fact is, and this is only my opinion - a little on the skitty side.

Busy places are busy for a reason - you can work that one out, and you are at liberty to post what ever you feel, but sometimes it is a better person who can keep their counsel, as they understand - it is obvious you didn't or didn't want to understand!

As for the quote you felt the prices were quite high - again I feel coming from London, isn't that a case of the pot calling the kettle?

Oh, and by the way if you are going to post a review - check your spelling, as decent is not spelt desent. You see we can be skitty also, probably on the same level in the scheme of things!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely pub for a few ciders in the sunshine”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Visited Bakewell with a few friends after watching a triathlon down the road at Chatsworth House.

The Peacock has a nice sun trap patio which was great for a few drinks and a Bakewell Pudding! The staff were friendly and the menu looked very appetising, this is somewhere I'd go again next time I'm in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Clark_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, why why why because you're, at The Peacock, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
couldn't agree more..........

Why is the Peacock so Busy - Because it's the Peacock in Bakewell!

Why is Chatsworth so Busy, because it's near the Peacock in Bakewell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite frankly, a most excellent inn!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

As a vegetarian looking for a pleasant place to eat on a Tuesday night we found slim pickings in Bakewell. However, the decision to eat at The Peacock was inspired! The ambience was akin to a genuine country pub, but the menu was as good as you'd find in a bigger city. I was particularly impressed by the freshness and superior quality of the food and the imagination put into the vegetarian selection. Presentation was well considered and portion sizes had me rolling back to our hotel!

Previous reviewers have been unnecessarily harsh in their estimation of this fine eatery; complaining of its busyness. Well, grumpy trousers, there's a reason for that - it's a smashing establishment with good humour and character aplenty. Just go there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, MrMischief, at The Peacock, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Quite Frankly my Dear....

What a lovely honest post from MissMischief, which is inspired in itself with the honesty she gives, and especially to the grumpy trousers, so I feel we should dedicate this review to all the Grumpy Trousers in Trip Advisor Land, as they are the moaning minis who come, not just to the Peacock, but other busy establishments, and if they have chosen a busy period it often puts them out of their comfort zone - so out come the grumps in frustration.....

Unfortunately success breeds a certain amount of jealousy in a minority few, and these are the under achievers I feel in this world, so to make up for their lack of understanding, knowledge, experience - not really sure how to categorise the grumpy ones, as I never really get it when you come out for the day, to enjoy yourself, drop on a busy thriving, in our case a lovely traditional pub, but because it's not what you are used to, and Doris doesn't serve you with the same glass you have in your local etc etc. feel you can have a moan over the time it takes etc. etc.

MissMischief - I'm already a fan, sums it up in a sentence, so take heed of her chosen words, and maybe it will make you think again if you are a member in the grumpy trousers club, before you hastily post a review, complaining things aren't like they are at home - and this rule is more poignant on Bank Holidays, and more recently with the glorious sunny weather we are all experiencing at this moment in time, as that also seems to bring out a few moans & groans as the heat boils the brain!

Places will be busy, it comes with the territory, as the sun beats down.

Enjoy it while it lasts, as it won't be long before you're all wrapped up in the cold!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing