We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family lunch”
Review of The Peacock

The Peacock
Ranked #11 of 89 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went as a family group - four adults and two small children - after looking at reccomendations on Tripadvisor. This pub lived up to the reviews for visitors to town looking for a good lunch.

Fooled by the wintry sunshine the only downside was that we chose to sit outside as we couldn't find a table for six indoors. The food selection was much as expected though slightly pricy by our normal standards, but the quality was very good. I had probably one of the largest (and nicest) serving of fish and chips I've had in a while! The rest of our group stuck with the pies, which seemed excellent, especially the steak and guinness, which was a daily special. Being outside did mean the food cooled too quickly, which slightly impacted our enjoyment.

The setting itself is lovely in the old traditional building off a square near the middle of town. It would be a wonderful place to dine in the summer / on a warmer day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Surreyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,150 - 1,154 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The food is fantastic, so i'm not sure why this place does not rate more highly. I think it is priced very reasonably for the quality and portion of food that you do get. Service was also very efficient and friendly.

Thank TravelbyMairee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacockbakewell, Owner at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for the positive review TravelbyMairee....

I'd have to agree with you on that one, we should be higher, but we are a Pub that has more issues than say a small cafe in Bakewell who may only have no more than half a dozen tables or is simply reviewed on a cup of tea and a scone, as well of course as cleanliness & service....but it's a horses for courses playing field, and visitors are entitled to express their views on what ever level they deem!

Where as we at the Peacock are reviewed on many, many issues such as Location, Staff, Cleanliness, Beer, Food, Accommodation, to name but a few, and in turn all these specifics open many cans that can be reported on......
....and if for example a customer has come from a local drinking Pub and the prices at the Peacock of a pint of beer is 10-20 pence more than they are used to paying, well i'm afraid some people take this to heart and don't really understand the Big Picture!

They still think they are at home and everything should be the same....well when you come to Bakewell it isn't.....you are paying that little extra for Quality, in a Quality town with Quality surroundings and the Peak District is Quality with no 'edge'....that is why you are here in the first place....so as I keep stating...."enjoy your day of leisure & rest, you've earned it, embrace it and take Bakewell for what it is.....

A lovely idealistic traditional town set in a beautiful part of the country, where there are no issues with, traffic, people, the environment.....and again the list is endless.......SO ENJOY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Called at the Peacock for a drink and will certainley return, the food looked amazing and the staff and owners were friendly, had a great evening, will definately return and perhaps stay over and try the food. A good evening, thank you!

    • Atmosphere
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently had one nights stay in Bakewell as we were travelling home from Yorkshire and chose the Peacock because it looked busy. We definitely made the right choice, the food was excellent so much so that I wished we could have stayed longer so I could try something else from the menu. The room (with the four poster) was perfect and the location of the hotel was central. I loved it, especially the breakfast and the nice lady that served us. All the staff were great and the owner very friendly. I will recommend it and hope to come back sometime.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Gav1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from one of our much deserved weekends in Bakewell.We arrived on the Sunday evening and headed straight for the Peacock before unpacking the car. I ordered my usual Chatsworth Gold and a glass of Rose and then ordered the fish pie which i have to say was lovely.It was served with fresh mash (& not smash!).The beer is so well priced for the taste and quality that i had another 3 pints. We returned on Monday evening where we both ordered steak and stilton which at just over £13 pp was very well priced. It literally melted in your mouth.It was served with a giant mushroom and 8 very large and tasty chips,onion rings and fresh side salad.The home made Guinness pie with a shot of the black stuff on the side seemed very popular on both nights. If you want to pay £1.99 for a pint of cat pee then pop over the road.If you want to pay £10 for 2 steaks that you will be chewing for 10 mins per mouth full then pop over the road as well.If you want top quality food and real ale at very rasonable prices then pop in and see Graham & Vicky.Reading recent negative reviews of the Peacock make me chuckle.The landlord that apparently doesnt like children in his pub was doing magic tricks with visiting kids on the Sunday evening and all other families with children were clearly made to feel welcome and catered for.I have been in the Peacock many times but got chatting to Graham this time.He's a proud Yorkshireman & its very apparent that he cares that his customers leave his pub happy and content and they leave having recieved very good service.Rather than airing any nonsense on here i'd suggest they speak to him first but i honestly dont think you will have any complaints about his food,beer,friendly staff or very clean & well run pub.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank aghogg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeacockbakewell, ....and what's a little price among friends, at The Peacock, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thank you for the honest to the point review aghogg0 (aka.....chris spedding of the met)

I do think Guests or Trip Advisor Anoraks should follow your lead and express constructive comments rather than "we arrived at 10.30, the pub was full, we had to wait for our key, we were shown to our room...it was raining" etc. etc. as people, in my honest humble opinion, don't want to read 'facebook talk' they want to know about the character, the definition, the personality, the belly, the ingredients of a town's accommodation, with drinking and dining also an important issue....Good Or Bad!

We at the Peacock pride and strive ourselves to give you all the best product available....we are what we are; a Pub in Bakewell that believes it is as good as today, and tomorrow we will try and do better, that is to your benefit from our honesty, our hard work, our investment, our personality and if we produce on the day, thank you! if we make the occasional slip it will be an honest one, we are here to talk to, (Don't abuse that privilege.....trust me it work's) and as aghogg0 rightly sort of posted in his review, it's a horses for courses track and we at the Peacock believe we are on the right horse on a very busy & dusty track.....but's that's life, and that's why this review posted is good, because it's honest, constructive and boy does it tell the truth!!!...unlike many on these sites!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you G & V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing