We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of pub food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peacock

The Peacock
Ranked #8 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best of pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We ate in 3 pubs in Bakewell and this one had the best ambience and food.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GillieD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacockbakewell, Owner at The Peacock, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you for the honest review, and i for one as do many others, would have to agree with you entirely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    285
    107
    51
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely countryside pub with excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We wanted to visit Bakewell on our way back from North Yorkshire. A quick lookup on Tripadvisor gave us The Peacock with plenty of satisified customers. We phoned to book a table for Sunday lunch and was greeted by a friendly member of staff. Free car parking was also available to the right of the pub and the outside seating area. The Peacock is an 1800's style pub with plenty of character. The menu, whilst not extensive, has plenty to suit all tastes. There was 6 in our party and 3 chose a traditional Sunday dinner and the other 3 surf n turf, scampi and sausages in a yorkshire pudding. Service was prompt and friendly and food was piping hot and plentiful. Vegetables provided in a separate dish were perfectly cooked. Overall the mains were very tasty and we were good value. There was a desert board containing around 6 to 8 puddings. A few of us ordered homemade sticky toffee pudding which was a little heavy and the sauce wasnt particularly 'sticky'. However it was still tasty. The rest of us ordered ice-cream which was nice and creamy. Overall price was very good and a highly recommended pub. Would definitely go again when we visit Bakewell in the future. BTW the funky retro jukebox in the main bar area was a very cool and a nice touch.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We went as a party of 13 and despite being very busy and us wanting to all sit together the owners could not of been more accommodating, friendly and served really good food, served immaculately and hot on slates - the best pub vegetarian lasagne I have tasted! Thank you

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have left positive feedback previously but wished to let everyone know that we have returned twice since then and service and food still consistantly excellant.On the last visit I requested something different to on the menu.No problem.I loved it and just wish I could have managed to eat it all.Even when exceptionally busy you do not have to wait too long for your meal,about 15 mins when fairly busy and only 20 mins when very busy.Food is excellant,piping hot so you do not have cold food on your plate when only part way through your meal.Vegetables are perfectly cooked,not overcooked and soggy,they are tasty too.The staff are friendly and helpful.The meals are fantastic value.We cannot wait to go back.I wished we lived nearby!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Travelled back from Yorkshire to Staffordshire and took the "scenic route". We had planned on stopping in Buxton for lunch but because of the roadworks we couldn't actually get in to Buxton, so made for Bakewell instead. And boy, are we glad we did! We found this delightful little pub with delicious sounding food on the menu. A very warm, friendly welcome from the gentleman behind the bar. I commented that one particular dish sounded lovely - he said all the food was lovely! I settled for the chicken and ham pie and my husband had the southern fried chicken with a bucket of fries. We didn't have long to wait for the food, which was beautifully served (the southern fried chicken came on a slate with a side of coleslaw and a huge metal bucket full of fries!). My pie was a proper home made pie with huge chunks of chicken and ham and the most gorgeous creamy sauce in it. Chips were tasty and crispy and the vegetables were crunchy. Everything was piping hot and my only regret was that I couldn't do justice to the very large portion of food on my plate! We'd certainly go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseberryTopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to The Peacock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing