We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there, especially in Room 6 - very noisy!!!!!!!!”
Review of Ashford Arms

Ashford Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashford Arms
Ranked #28 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay there, especially in Room 6 - very noisy!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We had booked in for two nights at this hotel, but checked out after the first night. We were allocated Room 6, directly above the kitchen. The very large kitchen extractor fan was only about 2 feet away from our bedroom window and the noise was absolutely horrendous, even with the TV on. When checking with the bar staff we were assured that the fan would be turned off at the end of service, at 9.30 pm. Armed with this info, we went for a walk around the village, (lovely) and then went back to the Ashford Arms for our evening meal. The food was lovely, but service was extremely slow (very obviously short staffed!!). At 10.00 pm we returned to our room, to discover that the noise was still there. I returned to the bar and tried to joke with the barman (owner?) about the fan still being on. He said that the fan was now off, but that the noise was probably from the fridges (in hindsite I am guessing that from his response that this was not the first complaint of noise that he has received). Without the benefit of this hindsite at that time, I asked him to come to our room to hear for himself just how bad it was. When we got back to the room, we could clearly hear the kitchen staff talking below through the floor and the noise of the fridges was awful, vibrating/humming almost like a generator was on. The barman (owner?) didn't seem too concerned, saying that the noise wasn't that bad. He then curtly excused himself to go back to the bar, but that he would sort it in the morning. When we checked out the next morning, the same barman took our payment - there was no apology, no asking how we slept and the full price was charged. This man should not be in the hospitality industry. Room 6 was also very small - the room details clearly said that all rooms came with "a dressing table" - ours didn't - there just wasn't room. Cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling too. Needless to say we did not get much sleep and will not be returning

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneretha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    19
    16
    15
See reviews for
30
77
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We were on a self catering holiday in this village & had a good meal here on Tuesday so booked for Thursday. Big mistake. We arrived 5 mins early to find our table had been given to someone else. Another table was found and we were given menus. We waited 35 mins but no one came to take our order. During that time I tried to catch the attention of one of the staff but despite facing me and being only 5 feet away he avoided all eye contact. At the time he was actually serving someone at the next table who had arrived 10 mins after us. We left after 35 mins as clearly they didnt want/need our custom. I will never go there again whilst it is run by the current owners.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Myself and three girlfriends stayed here for our Chatsworth weekend! This is a really lovely inn in a stunning location, ideal for visuiting the treats of the Dales. We were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms with the other of having our luggage carried upstairs too. Dinner on both nights was excellent as were the breakfasts we had.
I cannot grumble about anything in this place. Good value too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickle_sensier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

A group of 5 went for lunch mid week ,place did not appear to be busy .Sat outside with the children as hot day and inside airless .Requested umberalla to fit in slot of one of the 8 empty tables and was told by a disinterested member of staff that none were available as they were all broken.
Disappointing food arrived in "drips and drabs" 50 minutes after placing order with no explanation of the delay or an apology and we noticed that other people were experiencing similiar lengthy waits .
Staircase filthy leading to upstairs toilet with dirty laundry lying on the landing.
Sorry I just can not find anything complimentary to say about this place

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Just wanted to re-iterate the reviews already made on this B&B in the beautiful location of Ashford.

We were attending a wedding at the nearby Riverside House Hotel, and were severly disappointed by the Ashford Arms which doesn't live up to it's rating or it's price tag of £85 per room per night. It desperately needs abit of tlc, our room was very dated and smelt, I was dying to get up and out the following morning after our stay and out of the grot, even giving the dirty looking shower a miss.

I wouldn't recommend the Ashford Arms, but if you want to stay in the area pay that little bit extra and stay at Riverside House.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed at the Ashford Arms for one night over a weekend to go walking in the beautiful surrounding country. Thought considering the price £85 for the two of us and the enjoy britain rating, that we were in for a treat. Unfortunately this was not the case. This pub is set in a beautiful little hamlet, with great walking country and stunning views.
Sadly the hotel room did not match our expectations. The welcome was adequate, but not warm, but in fairness the bar was busy. We were shown to our room by a member of staff who appeared to be embarrassed when he let us in the room, we both felt he was waiting for a negative response. The room was very cold, the heating did not come on until late afternoon and in the morning it did not come on until 8am, we had to stay in bed to keep warm!! The decoration was poor and peeling off in places, the bedspread appeared not quite as clean as it could have been, but the inside bedding was very clean. The furniture in the room was very MFI style, it appeared less than stable.

We enjoyed a reasonably nice meal in the evening and as we were staying there we managed to get booked in easily. The food was ok, but was not the best meal I have ever had.

In the morning the breakfast was adequate and once again the staff were reasonably helpful but not overly friendly.
When it came to paying we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay by the owner who took our payment.

Sadly we would not stay here again and have since stayed at 2 different guest houses in Buxton which have proved very different to the Ashford Arms.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank townles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We booked a room at the Ashford arms for a weekend of walking in the peaks & following some online research. The photos on the website showed a cosy looking country hotel with attractive rooms; this and the four diamond rating led to us booking a room.

The place itself looks OK and the bar area is quite nice but the welcome was pretty much non existent. The room we had booked was somewhat disappointing, issues were: Dated budget furniture & fittings with handles & knobs missing, mildew growing round the window frames, peeling & sagging wall paper, archaic bathroom.....all in all below par for £85 a night off peak, probably the biggest issue was the lack of heating, it was freezing! the heat didn't come on until early evening and went off again at 11:00 pm, not an ideal place to rest after a day walking in winter conditions, the heat doesn't come on again until 8:00 am so no getting up in the night!

We have stayed in the area many times & usually pay less than the cost of this room & have never had cause to complain, this was disappointing.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room, fittings, lack of heat,
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.0 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Arms

Property: Ashford Arms
Address: | Ashford in the Water, Peak District National Park, Bakewell, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashford Arms Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing