We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this site as not regimental in layout”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lathkilldale Campsite
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Loved this site as not regimental in layout”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our first camping experience for many years. We arrived Wed 16th April for 4 nights, prices were charged per size of the tent with parking by the tent. You are asked to stop at the entrance and phone on arrival to be shown to your pitch. None was available but Gary guided us to one of the top fields by phone. We were at first on our own but next day a few more joined as the easter weekend started. They are small fields, top bits flat with many picnic benches around which were very useful. As we were at the top the walk to the toilets took around 5 mins stroll, one block with ladies and gents and sinks, automatic lighting with a shower then near the seasoned caravan sites 2 toilets and nearby the 3 washing sinks and 2 showers. Very useful was a fridge freezer and a stand alone freezer free for all to use. Facilities were cleaned daily. Great localilty in Monyash, The Bulls Head fab food a 10 min maximum stroll away. This pub allows dogs in the pub except for the restaurant, it was very busy so book if you want to eat at a certain time. We didn't see the owners but they were helpful over email. Would stay again but ask for a pitch at the bottom as it not sheltered on the top fields.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    31
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a lovely time camping at Lathkilldale with the family. Having a secluded place to pitch was very good. You can still see and hear the neighbours but the pitching areas are nicely separated by bushes giving you certain privacy.
Toilets were clean and adequate.
Beautiful village. We loved the pub! 5 minutes walk from the campsite. The food was delicious there but it is small and busy, you really need to book.
There is also a cafe serving all day breakfast and sandwiches (Old Smithys Cafe).
We did not see any grocery shop, so it is better to take all supplies with you.

Room Tip: Lovely village pub but you have to book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Being Canadian, I'm used to camp in forest with nobody pitching their tent next to mine, giving me privacy and real connection with nature. Unfortunately in the uk, most campsite I have been were in a field, camping next to each others and the car by the tent.... is this camping??? I finally found this great campsite where you can have some privacy and on most pitches, no cars by the tent. So far this summer, I returned 4 times, and even when they were some tents near me, it felt very private and the views from the pitches were just amazing.
Lots of walks to do around. Clean facilities. Good pub nearby with great playground for my 2 kids at the back. Overall, I would recommend this campsite to everyone unless your idea of camping is to pitch your tent in an overcrowded field with your car next to you!
Just one downside..... British weather!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 1ste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just got back from a great weekend away with the girls. Having visited the area before, we decided to camp for the bank holiday. We had a great pitch on the top fields where we could pitch up as a group and had plenty of room. The site was so quiet you wouldn't believe that it was August Bank Holiday! We had the corner of quite a large field and a bench, sunshine from dawn to dusk. Lovely quiet field, as no cars are allowed on the field, handy car parking area about 50 meter's away. Lunched at the cafe in the village, great beer at the pub next door. Did some fabulous walks along the limestone way. Got fish and chips from Bakewell, sat by the river and fed the ducks, cycled along the monsal trail along the tunnels and had a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our pitch was excellent, with a well tended private little garden along the side of the pitch. It was lovely and quiet and sleep quality was great. There are two sites ( one for tents and one for caravans). We have a motorhome and we were pitched in with season caravans. We were more than happy with the pitch but felt that the shower block and toilets need much improvement. There are 4 showers for two large sites and the toilet blocks were handmade and basic. But having said that w enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Not really suitable for motorhomes as access is steep and gate entry narrow !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treecat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose this campsite after it was recommended by a friend. It has a good site layout, the lower area has enclosed pitches which seemed to be for families. Our friends had stayed on the top field and said they had a brilliant time so we asked to stay there too. It looked like it had just had a new track laid up to it so we old actually drive up to the field to unload all our kit and then parked the car a bit further down. For some people this might not appeal but for us it was a bonus, it meant you could slep at night without having the worry of someone else driving within feet of your tent while you were asleep. Our kids and some kids could play together without us having to worry where they were. Although it was quite windy the camping area was well sheltered by mature trees a newly planted windbreaks. We were fortunate enough to have a brand new picnic table that had been installed that day!! The toilets were nice, nothing special, showers were very reliable with lots of hot water and we didn't have to queue, three washing up sinks meant the longest time we had to wait was fifteen minutes but all the hot water was free. Great views from our camping area, nice and quiet, good little site, good value for money, five of us in a tent with electric worked out at £4.60 each, pretty happy with that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just come back from spending our bank holiday weekend in the peak district. It was the first time we had been to the area but it wont be the last. We found this campsite online and it looked ideal, the fact it said it was a 'quiet' campsite made it sound even more appealing. /the owners were extremely helpful through the booking process. When we arrived on site we were met by a young lady who showed us to where we were pitching, we could tell from the amount of people on site that they were busy. We were taken up onto one of the 'upper penthouse' fields, they were lovely, plenty of space and fantastic views, although we couldn't have our car right next to the tent, but we managed without. We could get the car virtually on the field to unload which made everything so much easier for us. The facilities were kept clean and tidy, toilet roll never ran out, unlimited hot water, short walk from a pub, it was perfect, we will definitly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
4.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Buxton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lathkilldale Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lathkilldale Campsite

Property: Lathkilldale Campsite
Address: Church Street | Monyash, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bakewell
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small country campsite - great walking - good pub nearby - quiet with lovely views - sheltered pitches - Free hot water - EHU- Campervans - trailor tents - tents. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing