We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campsite, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lathkilldale Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice campsite, great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Aug, The campsite is in a lovely location. When we arrived we had to ring a mobile number, the owner was on site within minutes and showed us to our pitch. We had a pitch which was shaded. The ground was very damp and even though the weather turned warm the tent never truly dried out. The sun never really hit our pitch which was a real shame as other pitches were basking in sunshine. Apart from that the site had lovely clean washing facilities. Only one sink for the ladies though!!, dish washing up area was again lovely and clean. I would personally not like to stay on the penthouse field, this is because you are not able to take your car next to the tent. We would of struggled with the amount of gear we take with our 2 toddlers. The area itself is super, fantastic pub in the village which does amazing food. There is a brilliant playground at the rear. All in all a lovely campsite which we will return to

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    33
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
72
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've just spent two nights on the penthouse pitch, camping. We were greeted upon arrival and shown the available pitches to choose from, where the facilities were and provided with a magazine full of local information. The toilets, showers (hot electric!) and cleaning area were very clean each time we went at various stages throughout each day, despite the campsite being completely fully booked over the weekend. This is the most important factor to me as we are not a regular campers! Location is not too far from Bakewell and had lovely views of surrounding area and within short walking distance of a nice pub with great food. We were allowed to bring our dog. The electric pitches looked even better with a lot of privacy and would definitely book one of these next time. We had to pay cash upon arrival which we weren't aware of, wasn't a problem, but just so you are aware.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McLauTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here over the jubilee . Having read some old reviews from a couple of years ago didn't know what to expect , however we really enjoyed it. We had a 6 man tent with electric and paid £24 per night ( £4.80 per person) which was very good. We spoke to the owners about the other reviews we had seen and they explained that they do charge extra for extra cars, so if you bring one car you get the best deal. Because the site is in the Peak District they do this to discourage lots of cars through the village. All the big pitches allowed for parking on or next to them but some people were up on a big flat field above the main site. It was very pretty up there but was about 100 meters from the main tent fields (did look nice though).
The loos looked new and showers were good and hot with lots of free hot water, I think they were plenty big enough for me and two toddlers. We didnt pay for anything else at the site free showers, washing up, and freezer, it was free for the dog as well.
Good village pub and cafe, but we didn't see a shop so the closest was Bakewell. WiFi cost £5? For 3 days or so, wasn't brilliant but worked. We will definitely go back

Room Tip: Book a big pitch with electric then you will be on the main site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppycluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Tried this site for a long weekend in half term holidays we found the campsite good value for money the toilets and shower facilities were very clean. We found the campstie very quite. There is good pub near by serving hot food which we did use a couple of times. We will definatley use this site again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Campsite was very good down side was all the owners are bothered about was the people who had static caravans on site. When we arrived was told this was a quiet site but this is not said on th e website, everything has to quiet at 20.00hrs! Same but we wont be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChesterBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

Not a terrible campsite but well overpriced at 8 pounds per person. Cannot drive to tent pitches and water and toilets a long way from tents. On the plus side excellent location in the middle of wonderful countryside and with pub close by.

Helpful?
5 Thank lizardem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
3.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,664 reviews
10.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
1.9 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Buxton
130 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Manifold Inn
The Manifold Inn
#1 of 7 in Hartington
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lathkilldale Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lathkilldale Campsite

Property: Lathkilldale Campsite
Address: Church Street | Monyash, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bakewell
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small country campsite - great walking - good pub nearby - quiet with lovely views - sheltered pitches - Free hot water - EHU- Campervans - trailor tents - tents. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing