We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
Review of Bagshaw Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bagshaw Hall
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in the Cavendish Suite last weekend and though it was great! Nice to have a whole apartment to relax in. I like cooking so being able to make our own breakfast etc meant we could get up any time we liked. Great balcony with lovely views. Handy parking. Nice & cosy - would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r9kep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    108
    45
    30
    15
See reviews for
37
269
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and wow, what a room! The room itself was stylishly decorated with excellent views of Bakewell from two large windows. The kitchenette had all the amenities we needed (and more!), which was extremely helpful and allowed us to save a few pennys. The bath in the centre of the room, although rather impractical, was perfectly placed to allow us to see a view around Bakewell, as well as the giant TV with an adjustable arm to allow us to also watch in bed! The shower was also nice and powerful and it really felt like we were staying in a very luxurious room!

The owner herself seemed very pleasant and helpful, although we did only see her when checking in. Our only complaint was that the guests below us were blasting horrendous music until 1am in the morning on the last night, although thats hardly something I imagine happens all the time (I hope!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electricfoetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

we stayed 2 nts in the Mirabeau suite and loved it - Bakewell is central to walking and to major historic attractions in the area (Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, Hardwick Hall) and Bagshaw is a character manor from the 16th century, lovingly restored into a series of holiday apartments. They do accept short stays and what a treat to have all the luxuries of a hotel - robes, amenities, an ipod dock, etc - along with the convenience of a small kitchenette and dining suite. Very very stylish room with great jacuzzi tub and fantastic corner views out over the entire town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I have to agree with lulubunch's comments - I stayed in the Mirabeau Suite with my partner, but the fact there is no door on the bathroom and the bathroom wall doesn't reach the ceiling is a real passion killer and a bit too far out of the comfort zone for my liking. This would have been an excruciatingly embarrassing situation if you took your new partner away for a romantic weekend and found you had to use the bathroom in front of each other (and all that goes with it) ! Apart from that the room was lovely - but why there is no bathroom door / low walls in just beyond me.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashjack72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

It is true this is a lovely place to stay, but beware, there is no door on the bathroom and toilet, and in at least I know the Chateau and Mirabeau suites, the bathroom is a large area of the room that has been sectioned off and the dividing walls do not reach to the ceiling by about 18 inches. So weather you like it or not, you will be on very intimate terms with your partner. I dont know why they have done this as there is plenty of space to put a door and there is no reason why the dividing walls cannot reach to the ceiling. There were a few gaps in the crockery supply and the bath plug in the Chateau suite does not seal the water so you will have to have a shower. Due to the 3 foot thick walls the wireless internet does not work very well. I have ticked the NOT recommended box, only because of the open toilet arrangement.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
7.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagshaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagshaw Hall

Property: Bagshaw Hall
Address: Bagshaw Hall Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bakewell Holiday Apartments, from Bagshaw Hall in a convenient location in Bakewell, we are able to offer a choice of luxury boutique style suites and apartments for both the leisure and business traveller, providing flexibility that a traditional hotel, or bed & breakfast accommodation do not offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bagshaw Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagshaw Hall Bakewell
Bagshaw Hall Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing