We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Box ticked”
Review of Bagshaw Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagshaw Hall
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

For the third time we recommended friends to stay at Bagshaw Hall, we always get a little nervous as one particular group of friends live in the land of the rising mortgage in the borough of Kensington, they always seem to have a cat blacker than mine! Anyway got an email from them this morning to comment on how lucky we were to live in the peak district and how they thoroughly enjoyed, in their words, the delights and unspoilt character of bagshaw hall.

This is now the third time we have confidently recommended our close friends and family to bagshaw hall and wouldn't hesitate in doing so again.

Thanks again to the team at bagshaw hall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EldonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 413 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay in this 300 years old building. The architecture and interior of the hall is amazing. It is conveniently located within walking distance to the town centre of Bakewell. All the rooms were named after famous British explorers. The room we stayed in had an amazing view overlooking the countryside. It is a nice self-catered room, decorated with eclectic designed wallpaper and furniture. We would definitely recommend this place to all future travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

It was such a pleasure to stay in such beautiful place which clearly has been lovingly restored with a great mix of classic and contemporary decor and furnishings. These self catering holiday apartments were so much more than we expected. The location is great, just a short walk from Bakewell town centre which itself is full of charm. The room was spotless and had all the facilities for self catering. The staff were really friendly and we were greeted in the car park and shown to our room. This personal touch is not found very often and made our stay here all the more special. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reg355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

£95 a night for a run down shack like this. No signage in the street to the hotel, then a completely empty car park was the tell tale sign we were the only customers. A piece of paper stuck on the door with a 'phone number to call to check in. We then went down some slippery worn steps wondering where to go, we went all round the building which is nothing like the picture on booking.com and no reception area and no welcoming doors or brightly lit rooms to look into. All in darkness, then a man comes running up to us to ask if we were looking to check in.

The room we entered was very dark and shabby, seen better days, no reception, no fire, no lights, just a few manly sofas and first impression this was a flashback to The Adam's Family! I was just waiting for Morticia to come through the door anytime!

When we told the guy who eventually found us that we wanted a drink and a meal, we were told that they did not do this, when we wanted to cancel the room he called his boss and handed us his mobile, she told us that the money had gone through on our card and any problems call Booking.com.

The description of this hotel online surely should be made clear to the trades and description act as it is described as luxury hotel and it is definitely not a hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
12  Thank Chris3657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

There are a number of factual inaccuracies in this review that we would like to put straight. We never describe Bagshaw Hall as a hotel, we describe it as holiday suites and apartments. There are plenty of signs on the road to the building, so we are unsure where they are coming from in that respect. Nobody could seriously describe this 300 year old, listed hall as “a shack”.
It seems this is a malicious attempt to damage our credibility with numerous lies and falsehoods. To top it off they never even stayed with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this on short notice only 2 hours before we arrived
We arranged to met the women in the carpark to show us to our room and she was really friendly and nice.
In an excellent location just short walk to Bakewell town centre, although the walk was a bit steep on the way back
Our room was decorated, well equipped with kitchenette and very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nice and modern
The tea/coffee basket was well stocked. We made use of the fridge and the toaster after visiting the shops and it made a change to be able to make our own toast for breakfast

The bed was very large, really comfortable and lovely quality bedding

Bagshaw Hall is not a hotel - more of a guest house with self-catering rooms with no breakfasts, room service or hotel service. They have no restaurant facilities or a bar
We paid Hotel prices £105 for 1 night, I would have expected a hotel with breakfast and dining facilities for that price.
We could not find anyone when for check out so9 just left the key in the room

However saying this we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riachsion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This probably would have been a great review, if I hadn't felt that the owners' hearts weren't really in customer care. Hey, I don't blame them. If I lived in a fantastic place like that, I probably wouldn't be all that keen to share it.
We stayed here for one night, having been invited to a friend's birthday dinner at the Peacock at Rowsley. The event had been arranged at quite short notice and coincided with a big country fair in the area, meaning that accommodation had been very difficult to find. Bagshaw Hall had been by twelfth or thirteenth call and the first to have anything at all available - I was delighted and snapped it up.

The problem was, it felt a bit as if the convenience of the owners, not that of the guests is paramount. There's the odd check-in time for a start - you need to arrive by 2pm or 6pm. We'd originally planned to arrive by 2pm but when things changed, I emailed to let them know we would be aiming for 6pm. They obviously hadn't read their emails because we got a phone call during the journey, asking where we were and when we would be arriving.

Since the owner had called and being in a bit of a panic about making the birthday party on time, I asked if he would be kind enough to book a taxi for us. He wouldn't do that but said that there was a list of local taxi firms in our apartment. That made a rushed 15 minute change of clothes even more anxious, as we worked our way through the list trying to find a driver who didn't tell us that "If you'd called half an hour ago I could have managed it!" Breakfast isn't included. They can provide it but you need to give them 36 hours notice. I'd need 36 hours notice before I cooked breakfast for anyone, too...but I am extremely unlikely to go into the hospitality industry!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a fabulous stay in the Sleep Lodge. The hosts were friendly and most helpfull. The rooms were confortable and the price was exceptionally good.
However, having seen the luxury of the apartments in the Hall itself, I became green with envy. They were fabulous.
The only down side, as I could see (and a very minor moan indeed) is that all the apartments in the Hall had double beds. Had they got twin rooms, I would have paid the extra to stay in them.
Highly recommended. You cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
12 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
181 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagshaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagshaw Hall

Address: Bagshaw Hall Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: $112 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bakewell Holiday Apartments, from Bagshaw Hall in a convenient location in Bakewell, we are able to offer a choice of luxury boutique style suites and apartments for both the leisure and business traveller, providing flexibility that a traditional hotel, or bed & breakfast accommodation do not offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bagshaw Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagshaw Hall Bakewell
Bagshaw Hall Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing