We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from yet another fabulous...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melbourne House & Easthorpe
Ranked #9 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just returned from yet another fabulous time at Melbourne House. As usual John and Marie were great and treated us and the other guests like family. We wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else when in Bakewell especially as the breakfast is definitely top notch. Keep up the good work and we'll be back again in October for another perfect break!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wontstoptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

Great deal for £30 a night, you wont beat this any where.
Great location,clean, friendly, good breakfast, modern rooms. Anyone knocking this place is either totally mad or seriously fussy.
We loved our two nights and have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryasido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have stayed here 9 times and now me and 5 friends go for our girlie weekend away. We love it and John and Marie are the nicest couple you could ever meet. I dont know where the bad review came from as it didn't sound like the same place. We're all going for our 10th visit in 3 weeks and would never stay anywhere other than with Marie and John. Top quality accomodation and lovely breakfast !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maud68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We chose this B&B from the reviews on here, but what we got was not great,. This establishment consists of Melbourne House itself on one side of the road, with a semi-detatched house called Easthorpe on the other side of the road, with breakfast being taken in Melbourne House.

Firstly the good points are that this B&B is in a very convenient location near the centre in Bakewell and it does have adequate parking. The bedstead seemed fairly modern and new, but not sure about the matress. There are tea making facilites in the room and biscuits. The room was a good size.

Sadly here are the bad points;

Both buildings look like they need some TLC the web-site picture does not look up-to-date and there are rotten window frames. Funnily, the last plank of wood teetering on the edge of what had been the gas meter housing outside Easthorpe, fell off as we passed it. Public areas in both houses are a bit grotty with dust with cobwebs, dirty finger prints, very dark and we spotted an electrical socket coming off the wall on the landing. There are cans of air-freshener hanging about in the hall. The bedroom smelt strongly of air-freshener too.

The bedroom was VERY noisy as it faced the main road (I think many rooms do). The road is the A6 and it has lorries thundering past and is very busy as the main road into and out of Bakewell. Although there was secondary glazing, this is no good on a warm summer night as you need the windows open (also for another reason which I will go in to later). The bed had a white duvet cover, which would have been fine had it been clean, but it certainly wasn't, although there was a sheet underneath that looked clean. The bedside light didn't work. The wardrobe is a cupboard in the bathroom?

NOW, for the real grotty bit of the room, the bathroom itself. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and a bath with "telephone shower" off the taps, sink and loo. The ceiling above the cubicle was black with mould as was the shower head, and I mean mouldy! The sink had a long crack right through it. Not wanting to use the shower we tried the bath, but the telephone shower sprayed out at 90 degrees and soaked everything except the person in the bath. The windows in the room and bathroom had to be left open at night just to let the damp out, and they seemed to be open all day too, presumably for the same reason. The hot water in the bathroom was scalding hot, and would burn, although there was a small peeling sticker next to the sink warning of this.

The breakfast room in Melbourne house has modern tables for two with modern chairs but is very cramped and has its share of dusty ornaments. The breakfast was cheap but adequate, with cereals and toast. The cooked breakfast consisted of tinned plum tomatoes (which were very sweet), sliced fried mushrooms, egg, bacon and "sausages". Obviously the whole breakfast was done on a budget, but the big problem was the sausages which I think were the cheapest frozen sort available. I would defy anyone to call them sausages as the meat content was probably negligible. They were terrible and we left them, which was a shame because my boyfriend really likes sausages, but even he couldn't eat them!

I don't know about any other places to stay in Bakewell, but if we ever go back we won't stay here again.






Sadly, the bad points

However,

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We were place in the Easthorpe Annex, opposite Melbourne House on the main road. On the positive side the room was comfortable with a clean en-suite bathroom containing lavatory, sink and shower, and an LCD television. The room faced over the main road, however this was not a problem due to the well spaced double glazing, which masked the traffic noise. The hotel is well situated (only a hundred metres from the town centre) and offers free off-road parking!

On the down side, especially being placed in the Easthorpe Annex, we missed the "common rooms" that some bed and breakfast establishments still have. Thus although the hosts were friendly, we saw very little of them or the other guests except at breakfast, where they were also very busy. The breakfast itself was a good filler, full English with refills of toast and coffee, but the sausages were bland and the coffee weak (at least by non-USA standards).

Nevertheless we would use Melbourne House again. It´s situation is excellent, the rooms are clean, and the shower worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a charming B&B. The bedroom was lovely, and we looked forward to getting back each evening after our tiring days in the Peak District. My only negative comment on the establishment is that the breakfast was a little boring, albeit well cooked, and it would have been nice to see some effort made to support local food producers. Bakewell itself is an excellent centre for exploring the Peak District. When the weather's good, there is nowhere like it, although I imagine the traffic gets a little heavy in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelchael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbier74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.2 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#16 of 44 in Bakewell
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#4 of 44 in Bakewell
407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
234 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House & Easthorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House & Easthorpe

Address: Melbourne House Easthorpe Buxton Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not come and stay with us at our two quality bed & breakfasts, which offer easy access to local shops and markets, pubs, cafes and restaurants, events and attractions, and is only 3 miles from the famous Chatsworth house Stately Home, 1 mile to Haddon Hall. Alton Towers is just a short drive. We also cater for walking or cycling parties. We are an ideal base for touring the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melbourne House And Easthorpe
Melbourne House & Easthorpe Hotel Bakewell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing